Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (331 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
30
57
99
89
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


331 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

You can see why the navy would give this to its sailors. Strong and sugary. You need to try it if for nothing else because of its history. Basic rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

I compare all the rums I drink against Pusser's. I love this rum and it hosts so many memories. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

On the nose very a strong, dried fruitiness, mainly raisins, with a clean alcohol punch. Once in your mouth, not nearly as harsh as it smells like it might be. While not my preference as a sipper, it's not bad for that. As a mixer it's clean and versatile. While not high on my list, I'd not hesitate to pick up more when I find it at a good price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

A smooth, richflavoured rum, with a firm, spicy nose. A great sipper, with a mild spicy burn, filled with oak, caramel, and some baking spices. Surely got some references to "the black tot, the last Consignment", but at a lot more affordable Price, making it hard to choose from 1 bottle black tot or 27 bottles of Pusser's! Or NOT! The Pusser's worth every penny and get an extra bottle in This rating for the affordable price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Finally got around to reviewing this excellent, funky pot-still classic. The full-flavored Guyanese component makes this an especially delicious sipping rum, best served neat. Reminds me a lot of single-cask Demeraras, but less intense and much less hot. A very smooth and savory rum, on its own and in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

Perhaps I am just not a fan of Navy style rums, but I have tried this on more than one occasion and simply can't find many, if any redeeming qualities to it. Lots of folks seem to love it so to each his/her own.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

Got the 40% version for around 20€ and a good value. Strong but not harsh, surprisingly cheap. Rum how it should be, in my opinion. Makes me want to try the 15yo version later, what is why I give onyl 9/10. The best I got in the 20€ area so far.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

One of my absolute favorites. Interesting mingling of wood, brown sugar, funk, and a finish that goes on forever.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Fugue from United States with 1 rating

The funkiness of this rum is outstanding. For $25 a bottle, there is no better rum. I drink half a bottle a day and though I will doubtlessly die of liver failure I have no regrets. It's a totally enjoyable self imposed death. Delicious.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

Some of the other comments mentioned the incredible history with this rum, and I agree that the story along makes for compelling marketing.

I'd long put off buying this rum, but tried it recently. It has substantially more character and complexity that I was expecting. The color is dark, almost certainly due to the addition of caramel, which in this case may add a bit of a subtle bitter toffee note, but that might be the ingredients and process as well. There's a wonderful crunchy, strudel flavor, like caramelized sugar on a crumb cake. The flavors are warming, rich, winter spice, and dried stone fruit. On a cold, wet day, I can imagine sipping this to keep the damp at bay. There is nothing like or gentle about Pusser's. It's the kind of rum you drink when there's serious work to be done.

This is the rum I always gravitate to when I don't know what I want, and I'm seldom disappointed. Just a glass with a cube of ice. Lovely.

It is priced a bit higher than it warrants. I found this for around $27. I'd be a lot happier if it sold for $22-$23, but a worthy addition for the bar.