Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10(349 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
31
58
107
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

349 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 466 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

I compare all the rums I drink against Pusser's. I love this rum and it hosts so many memories. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

On the nose very a strong, dried fruitiness, mainly raisins, with a clean alcohol punch. Once in your mouth, not nearly as harsh as it smells like it might be. While not my preference as a sipper, it's not bad for that. As a mixer it's clean and versatile. While not high on my list, I'd not hesitate to pick up more when I find it at a good price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

A smooth, richflavoured rum, with a firm, spicy nose. A great sipper, with a mild spicy burn, filled with oak, caramel, and some baking spices. Surely got some references to "the black tot, the last Consignment", but at a lot more affordable Price, making it hard to choose from 1 bottle black tot or 27 bottles of Pusser's! Or NOT! The Pusser's worth every penny and get an extra bottle in This rating for the affordable price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Finally got around to reviewing this excellent, funky pot-still classic. The full-flavored Guyanese component makes this an especially delicious sipping rum, best served neat. Reminds me a lot of single-cask Demeraras, but less intense and much less hot. A very smooth and savory rum, on its own and in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

Perhaps I am just not a fan of Navy style rums, but I have tried this on more than one occasion and simply can't find many, if any redeeming qualities to it. Lots of folks seem to love it so to each his/her own.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

Got the 40% version for around 20€ and a good value. Strong but not harsh, surprisingly cheap. Rum how it should be, in my opinion. Makes me want to try the 15yo version later, what is why I give onyl 9/10. The best I got in the 20€ area so far.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

One of my absolute favorites. Interesting mingling of wood, brown sugar, funk, and a finish that goes on forever.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 207 ratings

This rum saw the light of day when Pusser's looked over its range some years ago.
Before the Blue Label was available in a version with ABV 54.5%, which is the imaged bottle here.
This stronger rum was then renamed Gunpowder Proof and the new Blue Label gained a strength of 40%, or 42% in some markets.
The Gunpowder Proof and the new Blue Label was said to be the same blend, but in different ABV.
It has over time been found in various blends initially with rum from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados. Then with rum from Guyana and Trinidad and finally nowadays it just contains rum from Guyana with distillate from the Port Mourant Double Wooden Pot Still among others. The latter one is the one I review here.
From aroma via mouth and palate to the rather long finish, it’s possible to recognize Demarera sugar, molasses, caramel, spices and fruits.
Overall it’s quite rich and full-bodied and a very good value for money which goes straight away to my shelf for good everyday rum.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Pusser’s shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by AZMark from United States with 4 ratings

I'll give it a 6 for a rum with no sugar added. Add 1 for the tradition. Add 0.5 for the sipping. Round up for an even 8 for a rum worthy of the rum shelf.