Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (311 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
13
28
49
94
86
30
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


311 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

24d591d4b97ebf5ff873c2b2f828c1bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Pusser's British Navy - ok but nothing more . Price ok.

5548e60e495d20288341ba85538f3369.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

As per my title, used to love this stuff but now find it over the top. Best use would be in battle to light up a fire ship. Alcohol is over the top and the whole thing is out of balance. Almost no caramel or molasses, it's hard to say exactly what the flavors are. Still as a punch in the arm mixer I would still recommend. Best in a Zombie if you want not to add the 151.

560dc0709dec21252cb0700bf06d546a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Un rhum étonnant qui vous fera voyager de par son histoire, son degré d'alcool ne gâche en rien sa qualité!

228de2ce22c4eaf4ad7e155836376c2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 105 ratings

Cheap but not a bad drop, nice n black and well worth the adventure

6f5c48984784518411ae41f81b31f9c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Pditty911 from United States with 10 ratings

I had this rum on my honeymoon resort in St Thomas. The bar was offering a tropical mixing class and I was the only one who showed up. What happened next was the stuff of lengends... ok me and the bar tender got blasted drunk. The first rum he had me sample was Pusser's and I was hooked. we mixed Pino Coladas, Mud slides,... and thats all I can remember but it was fun. My wife caught up with me later on the beach talking to two gals in bikinis about the iguanas falling out of the trees and into their pool. So anyway, this is a good rum with a bit of spice and not to dry for a gateway into the more expensive rums. A great value for the money and it will impress your friends without emptying your wallet. Just don't let your bride catch you mixing it up with the ladies.

0cc50ff650a34ec3902ade61a4b1efba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Elburton from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A punchy flavour, more ‘rummy’ than most. Best with a favourite mixer.

E93288b1b0c64e02d6a4a5bd9a139536.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 19 ratings

I always assumed that "navy" rum came from the bottom of the barrel but this was closer to the top. Bought it for a friend and tried it with a bit of ice. Good flavour that seemed more natural than forced with additives, not at all harsh, and a lingering finish. So I bought another for myself and continue to enjoy.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

On the low end, it's a bit tough to get through sadly.

D0dc150d3b61b567366b9fb2f1dd9dd6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Its good, but I could not find anythig special to it and there are no arguments for me to future purchase, yet I respect it, with its history and so on..

Final verdict:
Not hitting m cabinet in the future

C7c70b1a7492e7ca3467a85945629df0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 52 ratings

First of all, this smells lovely, more so than your average standard Navy Rums, which tend to have a generic "Rum" taste, whilst Pussars has an array and depth of flavours. All in all, good value for money and a very acceptable Rum.