Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (313 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
13
28
50
94
86
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E86acf7db1e66a9ad1f93026117ff02a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

1aadfbefb6a6d3063d129ca8ad34cdfc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

The main characteristic that drowns out most of the rest in Pusser's British Navy is the alcohol. This is a good rum, but its strong smell of alcohol, spicy and funky taste (sometimes even too funky in my opinion) and noticeable harshness simply isn't for everyone. I like it personally, especially with ice to smooth it out or mixed, but there's other rums I would prefer to sip instead of this in almost any situation. It is very well priced though, so no reason not to try it at least once.

Bfb0bac1f3a56ae09aef337892465ee4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by haross from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Je z něj výrazně cítit dřevo a cosi připomínající hovězí kůži. Chuť zajímavá, ale na mě příliš agresivní a ostrá. Vhodná spíš pro drsný námořníky než pro mě. Ale má svůj styl.

Edd72a92566a2e0152f55f492aed3282.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 21 ratings

For me the smell is offensive, it’s a chemical sweat that makes me feel sick. The taste isn’t much better, it’s a strong astringent like fermenting raisins mixed with old English furniture polish. I’ll let the bottle breath and try again at another date. Now I’m getting an old tobacco aftertaste, which is better than the initial mouthful.

C6af4065f9ad22339036799d93339805.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by engineerLANDO from United States with 6 ratings

It’s good. I have to say...Really, really Good! I expected it to be sub-par simply because of the average ratings but I was shocked. This rum is GOOD ! I mean, don’t get me wrong...it doesn’t taste like a million dollar rum. But as an everyday supper, this rum is great. Right off the nose and can taste something wooden, smoky, definitely something spicy. It stays with you and then mellows to a fruity note long afterwards. Really deep flavor for a rum at this price point. Sort of like an old friend helping to reef that sail on a stormy sea or a good weighted axe in the hand chopping wood in the falling snow. This is the rum for that. It’s got just the right flavor. You can really tell it’s a tried and true classic!

Ecf9bb978f4d5e66d014f77fd8168b31.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by YohoYoho from United States with 6 ratings

The first navy rum I ever had - great in cocktails, but I also like it as a sipper a lot. Can definitely taste the molasses. Highly recommended!

7d13c3c61e9f8efe00deae69f130c064.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 35 ratings

This is not a terrible rum; nor is it great. Its mostly unremarkable. It has been a while since I last had it so its hard to remember its flavor profile...then again the fact I don't remember the flavor profile means that is was unremarkable. I do remember that it was a little too astringent for my tastes but I did finish the bottle, which is something that I can't say about some other rums (*cough Kraken cough*). If this was this was the only rum at a party, I would drink it but there isn't much more I can say about it that stands out.

0f85857996e23c21d83488d7582e6488.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 22 ratings

This rum has a very distinct flavor though a little strong. Flavor totally changes on ice

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Tento rum pussers mi sadol a prekvapil na nízkou cenou. Napriek alkholovemu podrobný je plný chuti a neskutočne nízku cenu

819adb407e70c89cb1249edb416338d3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by farsiderum from United States with 6 ratings

Overpowering flavor and aroma. Basically an overly sweet stone fruit. It is smooth, but the flavor and aroma are not for me.

5cd6632b6acefa2b22ddc68518aef627.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

My dad drank this as he was a Nsvy man.
It doesnt disappoint.
The real deal