Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (311 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
13
28
49
94
86
30
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


311 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

820d1bb728cc969ef5fc3ec5d18f06da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

I'll say this: if I were a naval officer, after a long day, I'd want something rationed to me that'd kick like a mule too. However, I am very far from a naval officer, so this is definitely far off enjoyable to me. It is unbalanced, with a distinct off-smell that seems less interesting and more annoying followed by an overpowering acetone note that gives the distinct hint of metal. Overall, there are much less loud options offering a much more complex and enjoyable experience for less money.

01673de0c533257ddb1a7104fed681f7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

Starts out with a high funk smell, spanks you with a banana, then wafts off into a ripe banana afterglow.

81bc79b72a04a11a05db6f9394ed23c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Our favorite drink is probably the painkiller, and this is "required" for that... you can totally use other rums and it will be a great drink, but for a "purist", this is the only choice. And it's pretty cheap, comparatively, so why would you want to search out something else?
It's also great in several other drinks - strong sugar and caramel flavors, not a lot to dig in to. In summary, it plays well with others

0c6880d0e1bfe47a1aa478c13c1317ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Cdiaz from United States with 6 ratings

I love this rum. Strong caramel aroma and taste. Earthy, cane notes and more caramel at the finish. Great sipper or in darker drinks.

A9b576b9fbb2674a32796052c30393aa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 36 ratings

Pussers has grown in me as probably my favorite sipper on the rocks, reason? it’s delicious and that’s it! I could go on about the slightly funky pot still nose and the smokey Demerara flavor but in the end my taste says it’s a 10! I have tried a LOT up to $100 4square etc, but this in my opinion is better:)

6e651225ebb1feec717e6d379f75c87e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 41 ratings

Had to try because of the history behind it, but would not purchase it again... Emblematic however... lacks flavor.

15aa70c944d2c9469e99a18b7214e3e3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

At si ho namornici pijou, do coly ok, jinak bych doplnil “r” hned po P

37aac8ab2ed40b3c574a0d675de17850.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 32 ratings

Sailed in the BVI numerous times. Pusser is known as an essential ingredient for the Painkiller, a luscious combination of dark rum, pineapple, juice, orange juice, creme of coconut, and nutmeg. The rum has nice nose with caramel, and a slight bite. Try it, you'll like it.

1aadfbefb6a6d3063d129ca8ad34cdfc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Aiden from United States with 11 ratings

The main characteristic that drowns out most of the rest in Pusser's British Navy is the alcohol. This is a good rum, but its strong smell of alcohol, spicy and funky taste (sometimes even too funky in my opinion) and noticeable harshness simply isn't for everyone. I like it personally, especially with ice to smooth it out or mixed, but there's other rums I would prefer to sip instead of this in almost any situation. It is very well priced though, so no reason not to try it at least once.

Bfb0bac1f3a56ae09aef337892465ee4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by haross from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Je z něj výrazně cítit dřevo a cosi připomínající hovězí kůži. Chuť zajímavá, ale na mě příliš agresivní a ostrá. Vhodná spíš pro drsný námořníky než pro mě. Ale má svůj styl.