Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


311 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

40e47bedb1e3f4df3067f373cd50bc8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

One of my favourite sipping rums, great fruit and wood flavours make for a pleasant evening! Always consistent, very little sugar added post distilling it seems to me. As an added bonus, a great price and history.

6a7ae7849b4615d1674ac2f57c039d5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

taste - 5.5/10
sweetness - 5/10
price/value rating - 7/10

E62001adb26e49890447bb6d0a12e395.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

This is great rum. It smells strongly of carmel and brown sugar. The flavor is sweet and well-rounded and free of overpowering oakiness. The flavor ends with the ethanol flavor, but it's not so pronounced that you get burned or you focus on that. I honestly think this is the most balanced rum I've had: nothing takes away from all the other parts. Definitely worth trying!

Baac97ea921299117675932a7aca870c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 15 ratings

This is by far the best rum I've found for making painkillers. The sweetness, spice, heat, and oak are perfectly balanced even in a very strong Painkiller.

Okay for sipping on ice or with a splash of seltzer.

Ff1f54130782e4edcb929e4a85a50b07.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Yum it’s nice when you can find it! I’m lucky to have a few rum bars near me. This is one I drink every time. Also for me it’s always with cola!

9354c42e64180c5b4f8d1b44706ebe13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

I enjoy a strong rum, tonic and lime. It’s simply perfect for this. I’ve tried it on other “tiki” drinks, but it’s just got too much flavor (not a bad thing). I bought a good white rum. This would also sub as a (almost) good sipping rum.

8e56a4c4ab59bdb7b389990693b17733.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Vůně je silně rumová, ale se sladkým karamelovým nádechem. Chuť jednoznačně karamelová, s medem a vanilkou s dubem, skořicí, a vnímaví degustátoři mohou objevit i muškátový oříšek a zázvor. Svou sílu ale rozhodně neskrývá a závěr je příjemně dlouhý, a cítit je jemnou, ne nepříjemnou dřevitost sudu.

4697beef489e15a52d4dee48d857b753.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 58 ratings

Origin: Guyana
42%
All is pleasant in this 40CAD bottle. Smells attractive. Very smooth, no alcohol burn. Amazing, unique dried fruits taste. Original Demerara (I guess) sugar makes it sweet in the golden ratio with dryness. Tiny touches of spices are great.
Not that long aftertaste, but again it signals to pour the extra glass.
Cheers! To the end of qurantine ASAP!

B2afe2750d3db1e6c358db15adc87e12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

So good. The best for mixing with anything creamy like a painkiller or vanilla ice cream.

820d1bb728cc969ef5fc3ec5d18f06da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

I'll say this: if I were a naval officer, after a long day, I'd want something rationed to me that'd kick like a mule too. However, I am very far from a naval officer, so this is definitely far off enjoyable to me. It is unbalanced, with a distinct off-smell that seems less interesting and more annoying followed by an overpowering acetone note that gives the distinct hint of metal. Overall, there are much less loud options offering a much more complex and enjoyable experience for less money.