Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (320 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
30
52
96
86
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


320 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

If your looking to drink a nice rum that works in every situation then Pusser's is a good choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Vild rom, med en stor smag med høje procenter.
Har rigtig meget glæde af at stå 30min. inden man hopper ombord i den. Overraskede mig positivt, da Jeg endelig fik den i havn.
Et genkøb.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Really nice complexity here, some bitter, some sting, some oak and a nice mix of burnt sugar and caramel. Highly recommended for a conversation starter and a nice sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by El Cap from United States with 60 ratings

You can count on being able to find this one almost anywhere, when it’s navy grog that you need, and that is a good thing.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Bonandy from Poland with 7 ratings

A dry rum with a very mild aroma. It tastes more like whysky. Too sweet enough for me

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Rich, warming, semi-sweet, balanced, for a good price, I love it. I was amazed how fast it disappeared, while I was sipping this, I did not even manage to try this one with coke. Nice balance of demerrara, oak and spices. For me the nose was maybe too spicy, but the body was so full and warming it made me thinking of this rum on winter evenings. I have to go and enlist the navy.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Collettelee from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Dangerous stuff. Could not have as first drink as very strong and overpowering.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 138 ratings

Peux se déguster mais il est moins dans ma palette de rhum que j'aime. Ressemble plus a un whisky qu'à un rhum..

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by TommyTea from Germany with 8 ratings

dissapointed, like the title say i've tasted better for half the price,maybe in a mixer.
#Edit by the end of the bottle i wont say it was perfect, but it has grown on me slightly and add an extra bottle to the Rating.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 35 ratings

Strong and rich, I chose this to mark the 50th anniversary of “Black Tot Day”. There are some very perceptible, volatile esters on the nose, aromas of ripe banana, Playdough, raw cookie dough, Frank Cooper’s marmalade and pear. On the palate, it’s molasses, prune, wood and spice, with a slightly hot finish. This is a great sipper but I could also see it used as a flavourful mixer.