Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
356 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
15
31
60
111
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

356 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

The body, spice and balance of these two things make this rum perfect for cocktails. Enjoy the Painkiller but utilize it for any sea inspired concoction. An easy choice for home or galley bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Pusser's the original navy rum. Very rich in flavour. My personal preference is to water it down with a teaspoon full of water just to take the edge off it.

Don't like it with Coke reminds me off captain Morgan yuchh!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Not my favorite, aged nice just has a different flavor profile. Will do in a pinch but not a go to spirit for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Simple Man from United States with 10 ratings

It's 1/8th pint at sundown whenever I was around Mike, a toast to the Queen . . . who cares if I'm not a Brit?

It cleanses the throat and clears the sinuses and should never be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Well, ou always love your first...this is my go to rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Bill Clemens from United States with 10 ratings

If you are heading to the British VI, You need to pay a visit to the Soggy Dollar Bar and have their trademark drink the Pain Killer It is Awesome. Pusser's is a nice rum but so much nicer as a Pain Killer..lol

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very strong barrel flavor to me.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Not my favorite, but I wouldn't pour it out

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

The bottle of rum I ordered hasn't arrived yet, so I had to find something else to tide me over in the meantime. Went to a liquor store I hadn't been to for a while and they had this Pusser bottle on the top shelf. After reading all the praise here, I bought it and took it home... when wistfully, I realized the plastic seal had already been removed. I tasted a tiny sip, because I was curious, but felt a little queasy about it. The cork looked moldy. So I called the liquor store, they were cool, swapped it for another bottle. (Later discovered they simply put the bottle back on the shelf to sell. I'm never returning to that liquor store again!) I'm glad I made the return trip, the rum is indeed fantastic, dark, real, flavorful, robust, not too sweet. I read that the British Navy stopped providing this rum free to their sailors in their rations... All the more for civilians! Update: I downgraded my rating from a 9 to an 8 after I read Pusser sued a great Tiki bar in New York called the Painkiller for trademark infringement, which I think was a dick move!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love Pusser's in a nice Painkiller. The rum doesn't let the cream of coconut overpower it. PKNY makes a great one.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

The original and in my view best Navy rum. Quite a floral nose with tones of leather carry into treacly stewed stone fruits in a long full bodied finish. Awesome in Tiki cocktails. Painkiller and Grog this way please!! :-D