Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (339 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
30
58
103
91
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

339 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 461 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

The bottle of rum I ordered hasn't arrived yet, so I had to find something else to tide me over in the meantime. Went to a liquor store I hadn't been to for a while and they had this Pusser bottle on the top shelf. After reading all the praise here, I bought it and took it home... when wistfully, I realized the plastic seal had already been removed. I tasted a tiny sip, because I was curious, but felt a little queasy about it. The cork looked moldy. So I called the liquor store, they were cool, swapped it for another bottle. (Later discovered they simply put the bottle back on the shelf to sell. I'm never returning to that liquor store again!) I'm glad I made the return trip, the rum is indeed fantastic, dark, real, flavorful, robust, not too sweet. I read that the British Navy stopped providing this rum free to their sailors in their rations... All the more for civilians! Update: I downgraded my rating from a 9 to an 8 after I read Pusser sued a great Tiki bar in New York called the Painkiller for trademark infringement, which I think was a dick move!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I love Pusser's in a nice Painkiller. The rum doesn't let the cream of coconut overpower it. PKNY makes a great one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

The original and in my view best Navy rum. Quite a floral nose with tones of leather carry into treacly stewed stone fruits in a long full bodied finish. Awesome in Tiki cocktails. Painkiller and Grog this way please!! :-D

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Gwawr from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Naval proof. Gotta love the Painkiller

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Yablo Dratch from United States with 26 ratings

The British Navy did, for centuries!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Ginge Hiscutt from United States with 8 ratings

This is only second to Woods, you must drink neat no ice to enjoy the taste

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bruce from Canada with 5 ratings

Not True Admiralty Tot, certainly not strength...enjoyable

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by marjack126 from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Premier league rum

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by rummy from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

A true navy Rum, good luck!!!!