Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (339 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
30
58
103
91
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

339 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 461 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

had this maui didn't like it then tried it again when i got home i like it now maybe my taste is changing a little bourbon taste tho

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Chuck from United States with 10 ratings

Benchmark Island Rum, great color, caramel notes without being sweet, great on the rocks or in a Painkiller

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 15 ratings

This was my first really good rum. A friend from England introduced me to it as they stopped the "Daily Tot" in the British Navy.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Pusser's the original navy rum. Very rich in flavour. My personal preference is to water it down with a teaspoon full of water just to take the edge off it.

Don't like it with Coke reminds me off captain Morgan yuchh!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Not my favorite, aged nice just has a different flavor profile. Will do in a pinch but not a go to spirit for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Simple Man from United States with 10 ratings

It's 1/8th pint at sundown whenever I was around Mike, a toast to the Queen . . . who cares if I'm not a Brit?

It cleanses the throat and clears the sinuses and should never be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Well, ou always love your first...this is my go to rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Bill Clemens from United States with 10 ratings

If you are heading to the British VI, You need to pay a visit to the Soggy Dollar Bar and have their trademark drink the Pain Killer It is Awesome. Pusser's is a nice rum but so much nicer as a Pain Killer..lol

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very strong barrel flavor to me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Not my favorite, but I wouldn't pour it out