Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10(350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
31
58
108
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

350 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

And while it's mildly sweet I don't find much redeeming value in this. For the price you can get something far superior.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Britse Maagdeneilanden
Abv: 47,75%
Fles: 50cl PE flesje.

Een lekker pittig rummetje, je merkt de alcohol goed op :-)
Verders veel caramel en hout smaken. Niet al te zoet en een beetje droog. Lijkt wel een single malt rum.

Dit "recept" rum kregen britse matrozen van 1655 tot 1971 dagelijk bij het rantsoen.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Darren from United States with 7 ratings

Love this rum . Good strong rum for sipping or a good and kicken rum and coke

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Anders Lundwall from Sweden with 17 ratings

This is said to be the closest you can get to the old rum tots, with a very broad-shouldered rich taste. You will not find it boozey even if it's 54.5%. Leave it out for a good while to air in the glass before you devour it.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

obviously not too smooth at 50%< but a really good navy rum. Plenty of flavour and great straight up.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Pusser's Blue label 42% Export version I would have to say this is one of the few rums I enjoyed mixing over sipping. Not a great sipper has a strange sipping profile though mildly complex. I also found the synthetic cork to fit inside the bottle too snugly as to where force needed to be used to dislodge it, the first time I opened this rum I a slash of rum on the lap.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Vesslan 5 from Sweden with 37 ratings

trevlig upplevelse..

Small 8a83c559 fe5a 41c3 8e6d 00e896ede43d

Posted over 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

I love this rum the 54% is the best in the range it's powerful, full of flavour and keeps you nice and warm in winter!!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

The first thing I noticed when sipping was a distinct hint of leather. I could also taste hints of vanilla. It was slightly bitter for my sipping tastes, but excellent for mixing. Works great in the famous Painkiller. Reasonably priced and a cool bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

If you are looking for a smooth rum with that strong true rum flavour then this is for you if you need for something more complicated this is not what you want

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Revised again: After tasting many more rums and revisiting this, I lowered my rating a notch. Nonetheless, this is a quality rum with a smooth, rich, complex flavor. Probably not a sipper for me but it also holds up well on the rocks or in mixed drinks.