Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10(350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
31
58
108
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

350 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This rum combines tastes from tequila and calvados with whisky..

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Moggy from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

My grandad introduced me to this before I drank rum and it blew my head off! Now I can appreciate it properly - certainly not the smoothest but I'd never dream of drinking it any other way than neat.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Stränger Rum - etwas für richtige Seeleute. Eine gute Ergänzung in jeder Rum Sammlung.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 40 ratings

Très bon nez, malgré son degré élevé on retrouve des odeurs boisées... Assez doux au palet, on retrouve des arômes sucrées.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Loulander from United States with 2 ratings

Has a nice rounded, well- bodied taste that packs a nice punch at the end of a sip. So far, this makes the best Mai Tai I have had mixed with the Zaya rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

You can see why the navy would give this to its sailors. Strong and sugary. You need to try it if for nothing else because of its history. Basic rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Mike Anthony from Canada with 8 ratings

As a sailor for 29 years, I have enjoyed Pusser's rum on several occasions when it was supplied by the Queen. It was difficult to find locally for a while, but I managed to get some when they brought back the original blend in the ceramic flasks and decanters. It seems to me that that was a much better version. At any rate, it is now available in all the local vendors establishments. The rum is a rum drinkers rum. Strong, full taste and a long after taste. Good on the rocks or with a splash of water and a wedge of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Pussers is an excellent sipping rum and very smooth in a mix. Although not as highly rated as it's 15 yr brother, this is still worth buying. Strong but pleasant brown sugar flavor is notable.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Normally I don't tend to like rums over 40% as I find them too spirity. But this, sipping slowly, doesn't burn and warms you nicely and really doesn't come across as 54.5%. Molasses and treacle abound. Very good if you like this style.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Great in grog for it's authenticity. Strong, and it needs to breathe. But not a profile I'd drink straight.