Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10(350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
31
58
108
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

350 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Especially painkiller is great but this rum itself is not that tasty for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

I own this rum just to make Pain Killers. Not a bad rum, I've mixed it, put it on the rocks and even tried neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Delicious in cocktails... especially on a Sunday afternoon on Camden Beach

Small profile 1

Posted over 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 111 ratings

Tart, almost too sweet of a taste, medium finish that doesn't get any better. Limited spice but still present. Almost a spoiled fruit.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Bottles I had in the UK were much stronger. Much tastier too. Feel like we're getting a lesser product here in the states.

Getting Chocolate and Leather with this one. A fair sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Whether I'm needing a navy-style, or a generally good mixing rum, I try to always have Pusser's on my shelf. Mmm...the Painkiller...so refreshing. This is another workhorse of mine because it plays so well with other rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is a 8.5
There is a Caribbean themed bar around the corner that serves this rum almost exclusively in its mixed rum drinks and its didn't bring me any surprise when I found out it sold the most alcohol of all bars/restaurants in Michigan. I would make a large bet it is because of this rum, literally there is a employee at the place that makes nonstop painkillers, that is his job all day everyday.
Smelling the rum you know you got something good. When you first pop the top off (its corked) the aromas come out and even at a 3ft distance you can smell it. Smelling from the bottle you get a whole slew of hints of sugar, vanilla, alcohol,cask (oak), some fruit in there too. Now what makes it stand out for me is its boldness. Drinking it neat is fine, its not harsh at all, its warming but not harsh. But goodness it dives into your whole pallet front to back you know this is a real navy rum. In cola it doesn't even get tamed. You still get all the punch of the rum and its flavours. Its sweet with a nice heat and alcohol punch, the oak cask lingers in the back many other flavors can be found but im not the greatest and picking them all out and naming them distinctively.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Devan from New Zealand with 10 ratings

I have been wanting to try a pussers rum for sometime and decided on the blue label due to unavailability of the 15YO. The bottle proudly has the St George's ensign emblazoned atop, with the blue background and I feel like I'm already at sea. Unbottling reveals a light mahogany color. Swirling and the rum is lighter than I thought but this is consistent with the color. Light to medium legs, thin. I REALLY like this on the nose! I capture oak, vanilla, baked spices and light orange all together. It is simple and delicious. On the air, this rum calls to me, this is how rum should smell. I let it sit in the glass for 15 minutes, inhale and taste. Oak up front, well oaked ...sweet toffee and vanilla, the spices apparent in the 2nd sip. This rum isn't supposed to be complex. It's simplicity is its strength, less is more and all that. Although in the mouth the experience is short lived, down the throat presents a warm almost hot, lingering and lasting story. I feel this all the way to my stomach. I already have a 2nd glass sitting with a cube of ice. The ice takes the heat off and is easier on the way down for the 2nd tasting.
Overall I am really, really pleased with this rum! It's simple, sweet, well oaked with enough complexity to keep the advanced taster interested, and the not so accomplished rum drinker smiling. Thanks pussers for this first time experience, I look forward to comparing the OP blue and 15YO red.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by candyman from Australia with 1 rating

Sharp initially but a clean finish. Rich and creamy texture

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

Wonderful, old-fashioned rum taste with enough sweetness and complexity to make the little burn at the end thoroughly enjoyable.