Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10(350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
31
58
108
94
33
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

350 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

And while it's mildly sweet I don't find much redeeming value in this. For the price you can get something far superior.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

The difference between the base Pusser's and the 15 year old Pusser's is worlds apart. The base Pusser's is more of a rum-and-coke base than an enjoyable neat sipper. It has some good flavors, but the burn is just too strong. Save your money and go straight to one of my Top 10 rums with the 15 year old.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Not very sweet but it doesn't bother you after 1 sip, great for cocktails as it's strong even in this non-overproof version. It's not a rum I will have 1 glass and be overwhelmed by the flavor. It's rather that I take 1 and want a second to fully taste everything there. It's dry but it does not have that bothering taste of alcohol

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chommie from United States with 4 ratings

In my circle not a lot of people know about this product but I have seen a lot of positive reviews online so I finally purchased a bottle and gave it a try. Wow! It has a strong taste without being overbearing, one can taste a lot of different spices with an underlying sweetness like brown sugar & a really long finish that is very similar to a lightly spiced cinnamon roll. It really makes you want to come back for more of that finish, My next priority is to try the Pusser's 15yr, if it's any better than this it is truly exceptional. I mostly drink rum neat & rarely mix so that's how I rate them but for all the mixers out there, I think this rum has the strength to mix well but I would be careful what you mix with, the best part of this for me is the finish so I would avoid coke as it seems to me it would kill the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

This rum is deep, complex, powerful, and surprisingly good. Heady, oaky pot-still aromas fill your nostrils. There is the harshness of youth without any alcohol smell. The mouth is prickly, oaky, with some caramel, but is delightfully dry. Somewhat reminiscent of Havana Club Selección. The finish is short.

This rum is a delight—great in cocktails, fantastic neat. And a great deal! Too bad they sugar the gunpowder and 15-year version :(

8+

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

This rum is unbelievably good for its price.
Quite unique taste and aroma. Lighlty reminds whiskey with smoked rags aroma, but taste is lightly sweet with oak notes and fruity longlasting finish.
Excellent

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil Beausoleil from Canada with 2 ratings

At our last Naval reunion this was used at TOT time for our ration. It was just like the rum we were once issued and is definately not a sipping rum. It must be mixed as regulations demanded. I find the price is too high for the rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from Canada with 7 ratings

When the Navy went out shopping for rum for the sailors they found the cheapest rot gut they could buy and this follows in that tradition.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

This is a strange bird that has some weird feathers. Very unique, I can't say i would drink rum if it all tasted like this stuff. Its very unique to say the least, complex is an understatement, i can't even compare it to any other rums. Update: The more I drink Pusser's the more I like it. Drink it neat after letting it mellow for a few. The Gun Powder Proof is great and Nelson's Blood is outta this world. Great RUMs..

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

After getting this bottle as a gift I was glad that I didn't spend the $80 on it. We Canadians get hosed with taxes)-; Thats not to put it down because I really like it, but only save it for the odd occasion when I can tell my favorite person how much I love her. The woody flavours soaked into this one well. Sweet with a short warm finish...Definitely a sipper for me

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

I like some things about Pussers- very fruity, raisins, nicely dry, quality feel.

sugar 6g