Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
365 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
15
32
61
116
93
35
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

365 Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

When you Charter a boat in BVI they always give you a bottle of Pusser's. I think it is tough and nasty, just like the British Navy! You can mix it with cola but never try it straight! There are just too many good runs out there!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Fugue from United States with 1 rating

The funkiness of this rum is outstanding. For $25 a bottle, there is no better rum. I drink half a bottle a day and though I will doubtlessly die of liver failure I have no regrets. It's a totally enjoyable self imposed death. Delicious.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Hemodypsea from United States with 20 ratings

Dark and funky, very good pot stilled mixer. Try it!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

Some of the other comments mentioned the incredible history with this rum, and I agree that the story along makes for compelling marketing.

I'd long put off buying this rum, but tried it recently. It has substantially more character and complexity that I was expecting. The color is dark, almost certainly due to the addition of caramel, which in this case may add a bit of a subtle bitter toffee note, but that might be the ingredients and process as well. There's a wonderful crunchy, strudel flavor, like caramelized sugar on a crumb cake. The flavors are warming, rich, winter spice, and dried stone fruit. On a cold, wet day, I can imagine sipping this to keep the damp at bay. There is nothing like or gentle about Pusser's. It's the kind of rum you drink when there's serious work to be done.

This is the rum I always gravitate to when I don't know what I want, and I'm seldom disappointed. Just a glass with a cube of ice. Lovely.

It is priced a bit higher than it warrants. I found this for around $27. I'd be a lot happier if it sold for $22-$23, but a worthy addition for the bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Pusser's is known for its history with the British Navy. As a rum, its good for mixing and those nights when you want to drink something a bit mild but enjoyable. Doesn't put you at a full run, but the sheets are up and your moving.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: 6 gpl. This is a great rum for mixed drinks. It has lots of flavor and zest without overpowering the drink. A better use for this is in food as I put this in my deserts. I put it on Bread Pudding, Chocolate cake, plain cheesecake, mix it with berries and maple syrup and with plain yogurt. My wine drinking sisters loved this in deserts. And if you run out of sipping rum this steps up to the plate. I add one cube of ice. This will be a staple in my collection. The bottle is in the kitchen and not the bar.

Small img 20210329 184903 919

Posted 3 months ago by Krisbromkeyart from United Kingdom with 39 ratings

Not a huge fan of navy rum but this had a nice touch of sweet honey flavours.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by kudzey (TASTING CLUB) from Poland with 26 ratings

It's my first Navy rum and first time from Guyana.
Cheap-looking bottle contains amber-coloured liquid. The aroma is extraordinarily rich and fresh, it must be the legendary Guyanese molasses. You can smell sour apple, earthy and grassy notes with honey. I also sense nail polish hints and wet wood. After several minutes walnuts joined the aromatic palette.
Taking a sip surprised me with almost no alcohol burn. Sweet honey and sour apple compete in the mouth at the beginning, followed by walnuts and barrel notes, which are present in the aftertaste, together with returning honey. Presently throat-warming and dangerously easy-going. Not to mention it's quite cheap.

I compared two different glasses, the small glencraine revealed more fruity sweet and sour character, while the larger glass allowed me to feel more woody notes coming from the barrel.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 370 ratings

It's clearly a diluted version of Gunpowder proof.
The nose is still great and intensive. Heavy molasses, coffee and honey are the first flavors in my nose. The smell is dark and oily, great.

The taste is not that rich, it starts with cocoa, molasses and burned sugar. The honey is almost not noticeable, just in the middle taste you get some hints of it.

Still not bad and good navy rum, but Gunpowder is much better for me.

Nose: molasses, coffee, honey, cocoa, papaya, earth, plants (grasy note)
Taste: cocoa, burned sugar, caramel, molasses, tanins
Middle: coffee, tanins, some honey
Finish: spice, tanins, wood, earth, molasses, honey
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (21€): 4/5
Experience level: amateur

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by blowpez from United States with 22 ratings

Nabbed this solely to try an authentic painkiller. Its a decent mixing rum but nothing special in my opinion. Wouldn't be upset buying it again but probably wouldn't go out of my way to do so. Its a classic so gotta respect it!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 81 ratings

This is not a terrible rum; nor is it great. Its mostly unremarkable. It has been a while since I last had it so its hard to remember its flavor profile...then again the fact I don't remember the flavor profile means that is was unremarkable. I do remember that it was a little too astringent for my tastes but I did finish the bottle, which is something that I can't say about some other rums (*cough Kraken cough*). If this was this was the only rum at a party, I would drink it but there isn't much more I can say about it that stands out.

Nose: 5
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 8
Price: 6

Total: 5.6