Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


304 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 6 gpl. This is a great rum for mixed drinks. It has lots of flavor and zest without overpowering the drink. A better use for this is in food as I put this in my deserts. I put it on Bread Pudding, Chocolate cake, plain cheesecake, mix it with berries and maple syrup and with plain yogurt. My wine drinking sisters loved this in deserts. And if you run out of sipping rum this steps up to the plate. I add one cube of ice. This will be a staple in my collection. The bottle is in the kitchen and not the bar.

Posted over 5 years ago by A from United States with 7 ratings

This is the type of rum Id take camping, something to sip out of the bottle or mix into drinks or even slip into coffee. I think this is the rum songs were composed of, mainly cause of the nice kick. And the fact that drinking leads to bad drinking songs. Though honestly smooth taste and nice finish.

Posted over 5 years ago by Orion from United States with 19 ratings

Nice aver color. Nose with hints of dried fruit candy and dates. Medium legs on glass. Mild sweet fruity flavor with minimal afterburn. The finish is somewhat short. I was not expecting greatness but it turns out this is a very pleasant good sipping rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dan Ozga from United States with 4 ratings

Pussers is an original rum. I like to mix with coke a cola our make the famous pain killer with it.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 47,75 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy
Aroma: Klasická rumová vůně, kůže, náplň rumových pralinek ale v hutnější a silnější formě, sladce kořeněná. Kandované ovoce, datle a fíky. (85 b)
Chuť: Dost silný, tipoval bych určitě víc procent alkoholu. Sladce štiplavý, se silnou kořenitostí, která je hodně pikantní a dlouho přetrvává v dochuti. S vodou je tento rum sametovější, krémový. (85 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Měl jsem miniaturu koupenou z Diosu. Přímo jsem srovnával s verzí 75%, a byl to ve výsledku vyrovnaný souboj. Kupodivu štiplavějším a ostřejším dojmem působila tato slabší verze.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

If your looking to drink a nice rum that works in every situation then Pusser's is a good choice.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Vild rom, med en stor smag med høje procenter.
Har rigtig meget glæde af at stå 30min. inden man hopper ombord i den. Overraskede mig positivt, da Jeg endelig fik den i havn.
Et genkøb.

Posted about 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Really nice complexity here, some bitter, some sting, some oak and a nice mix of burnt sugar and caramel. Highly recommended for a conversation starter and a nice sipper.

Posted 7 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 15 ratings

This rum is a staple on my shelf, I love Guyana Demerara style rums. Nice full body golden brown hues, lingering flavor. I have a love hate relationship with Pusser’s because they have changed the blend of this rum 25 or more years ago, originally slightly over proof, and recently did the same thing to the 15 year in the past year or two. So today I give between 6 & 7.

Posted 12 days ago by Stonge1954 (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

One of my favourite sipping rums, great fruit and wood flavours make for a pleasant evening! Always consistent, very little sugar added post distilling it seems to me. As an added bonus, a great price and history.

Posted 12 days ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 5.5/10
sweetness - 5/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Posted 15 days ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

This is great rum. It smells strongly of carmel and brown sugar. The flavor is sweet and well-rounded and free of overpowering oakiness. The flavor ends with the ethanol flavor, but it's not so pronounced that you get burned or you focus on that. I honestly think this is the most balanced rum I've had: nothing takes away from all the other parts. Definitely worth trying!

Posted 17 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

This is by far the best rum I've found for making painkillers. The sweetness, spice, heat, and oak are perfectly balanced even in a very strong Painkiller.

Okay for sipping on ice or with a splash of seltzer.

Posted 25 days ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Yum it’s nice when you can find it! I’m lucky to have a few rum bars near me. This is one I drink every time. Also for me it’s always with cola!

Posted 26 days ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

I enjoy a strong rum, tonic and lime. It’s simply perfect for this. I’ve tried it on other “tiki” drinks, but it’s just got too much flavor (not a bad thing). I bought a good white rum. This would also sub as a (almost) good sipping rum.

Posted 27 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Vůně je silně rumová, ale se sladkým karamelovým nádechem. Chuť jednoznačně karamelová, s medem a vanilkou s dubem, skořicí, a vnímaví degustátoři mohou objevit i muškátový oříšek a zázvor. Svou sílu ale rozhodně neskrývá a závěr je příjemně dlouhý, a cítit je jemnou, ne nepříjemnou dřevitost sudu.

Posted about 1 month ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

Origin: Guyana
42%
All is pleasant in this 40CAD bottle. Smells attractive. Very smooth, no alcohol burn. Amazing, unique dried fruits taste. Original Demerara (I guess) sugar makes it sweet in the golden ratio with dryness. Tiny touches of spices are great.
Not that long aftertaste, but again it signals to pour the extra glass.
Cheers! To the end of qurantine ASAP!

Posted about 1 month ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

So good. The best for mixing with anything creamy like a painkiller or vanilla ice cream.

Posted about 1 month ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

I'll say this: if I were a naval officer, after a long day, I'd want something rationed to me that'd kick like a mule too. However, I am very far from a naval officer, so this is definitely far off enjoyable to me. It is unbalanced, with a distinct off-smell that seems less interesting and more annoying followed by an overpowering acetone note that gives the distinct hint of metal. Overall, there are much less loud options offering a much more complex and enjoyable experience for less money.

Posted about 2 months ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

Starts out with a high funk smell, spanks you with a banana, then wafts off into a ripe banana afterglow.

Posted 2 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Our favorite drink is probably the painkiller, and this is "required" for that... you can totally use other rums and it will be a great drink, but for a "purist", this is the only choice. And it's pretty cheap, comparatively, so why would you want to search out something else?
It's also great in several other drinks - strong sugar and caramel flavors, not a lot to dig in to. In summary, it plays well with others

Posted 3 months ago by Cdiaz from United States with 6 ratings

I love this rum. Strong caramel aroma and taste. Earthy, cane notes and more caramel at the finish. Great sipper or in darker drinks.

Posted 3 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Pussers has grown in me as probably my favorite sipper on the rocks, reason? it’s delicious and that’s it! I could go on about the slightly funky pot still nose and the smokey Demerara flavor but in the end my taste says it’s a 10! I have tried a LOT up to $100 4square etc, but this in my opinion is better:)

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Had to try because of the history behind it, but would not purchase it again... Emblematic however... lacks flavor.