Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (338 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
30
58
103
90
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

338 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Not bad or great. Strong flavor. Reminds me a little of appleton estate reserve but not quite as good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

Some of the other comments mentioned the incredible history with this rum, and I agree that the story along makes for compelling marketing.

I'd long put off buying this rum, but tried it recently. It has substantially more character and complexity that I was expecting. The color is dark, almost certainly due to the addition of caramel, which in this case may add a bit of a subtle bitter toffee note, but that might be the ingredients and process as well. There's a wonderful crunchy, strudel flavor, like caramelized sugar on a crumb cake. The flavors are warming, rich, winter spice, and dried stone fruit. On a cold, wet day, I can imagine sipping this to keep the damp at bay. There is nothing like or gentle about Pusser's. It's the kind of rum you drink when there's serious work to be done.

This is the rum I always gravitate to when I don't know what I want, and I'm seldom disappointed. Just a glass with a cube of ice. Lovely.

It is priced a bit higher than it warrants. I found this for around $27. I'd be a lot happier if it sold for $22-$23, but a worthy addition for the bar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Pusser's is known for its history with the British Navy. As a rum, its good for mixing and those nights when you want to drink something a bit mild but enjoyable. Doesn't put you at a full run, but the sheets are up and your moving.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

It's clearly a diluted version of Gunpowder proof.
The nose is still great and intensive. Heavy molasses, coffee and honey are the first flavors in my nose. The smell is dark and oily, great.

The taste is not that rich, it starts with cocoa, molasses and burned sugar. The honey is almost not noticeable, just in the middle taste you get some hints of it.

Still not bad and good navy rum, but Gunpowder is much better for me.

Nose: molasses, coffee, honey, cocoa, papaya, earth, plants (grasy note)
Taste: cocoa, burned sugar, caramel, molasses, tanins
Middle: coffee, tanins, some honey
Finish: spice, tanins, wood, earth, molasses, honey
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (21€): 4/5
Experience level: amateur

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by blowpez from United States with 21 ratings

Nabbed this solely to try an authentic painkiller. Its a decent mixing rum but nothing special in my opinion. Wouldn't be upset buying it again but probably wouldn't go out of my way to do so. Its a classic so gotta respect it!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 62 ratings

This is not a terrible rum; nor is it great. Its mostly unremarkable. It has been a while since I last had it so its hard to remember its flavor profile...then again the fact I don't remember the flavor profile means that is was unremarkable. I do remember that it was a little too astringent for my tastes but I did finish the bottle, which is something that I can't say about some other rums (*cough Kraken cough*). If this was this was the only rum at a party, I would drink it but there isn't much more I can say about it that stands out.

Nose: 5
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 8
Price: 6

Total: 5.6

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

The story behind it is great and to be honest I think I bought it for the romance involved around the rum rations. I wouldn't buy again, for this price there are many better options. It's a strong brew which will evoke the navy well, I wouldn't sip though.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2661 ratings

The difference between the base Pusser's and the 15 year old Pusser's is worlds apart. The base Pusser's is more of a rum-and-coke base than an enjoyable neat sipper. It has some good flavors, but the burn is just too strong. Save your money and go straight to one of my Top 10 rums with the 15 year old.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Not very sweet but it doesn't bother you after 1 sip, great for cocktails as it's strong even in this non-overproof version. It's not a rum I will have 1 glass and be overwhelmed by the flavor. It's rather that I take 1 and want a second to fully taste everything there. It's dry but it does not have that bothering taste of alcohol

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chommie from United States with 4 ratings

In my circle not a lot of people know about this product but I have seen a lot of positive reviews online so I finally purchased a bottle and gave it a try. Wow! It has a strong taste without being overbearing, one can taste a lot of different spices with an underlying sweetness like brown sugar & a really long finish that is very similar to a lightly spiced cinnamon roll. It really makes you want to come back for more of that finish, My next priority is to try the Pusser's 15yr, if it's any better than this it is truly exceptional. I mostly drink rum neat & rarely mix so that's how I rate them but for all the mixers out there, I think this rum has the strength to mix well but I would be careful what you mix with, the best part of this for me is the finish so I would avoid coke as it seems to me it would kill the finish.