Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (313 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
13
28
50
94
86
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Rhum très boisé et au goûter le caramel un peu vanillée, on sent un peu la Jamaïque. Au nez chocolat et cognac. Je m'attendais à mieux mais correct.

85e61be69aa98bb61be8e9ea080b2564.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Pusser's is known for its history with the British Navy. As a rum, its good for mixing and those nights when you want to drink something a bit mild but enjoyable. Doesn't put you at a full run, but the sheets are up and your moving.

3e75be6535cc7342c01331905c8e3036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

The story behind it is great and to be honest I think I bought it for the romance involved around the rum rations. I wouldn't buy again, for this price there are many better options. It's a strong brew which will evoke the navy well, I wouldn't sip though.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

The difference between the base Pusser's and the 15 year old Pusser's is worlds apart. The base Pusser's is more of a rum-and-coke base than an enjoyable neat sipper. It has some good flavors, but the burn is just too strong. Save your money and go straight to one of my Top 10 rums with the 15 year old.

Db6e302f8a5a310dcef3d724544e9bf9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Not very sweet but it doesn't bother you after 1 sip, great for cocktails as it's strong even in this non-overproof version. It's not a rum I will have 1 glass and be overwhelmed by the flavor. It's rather that I take 1 and want a second to fully taste everything there. It's dry but it does not have that bothering taste of alcohol

9a5145ee5342374b4402c03c521d77f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Chommie from United States with 4 ratings

In my circle not a lot of people know about this product but I have seen a lot of positive reviews online so I finally purchased a bottle and gave it a try. Wow! It has a strong taste without being overbearing, one can taste a lot of different spices with an underlying sweetness like brown sugar & a really long finish that is very similar to a lightly spiced cinnamon roll. It really makes you want to come back for more of that finish, My next priority is to try the Pusser's 15yr, if it's any better than this it is truly exceptional. I mostly drink rum neat & rarely mix so that's how I rate them but for all the mixers out there, I think this rum has the strength to mix well but I would be careful what you mix with, the best part of this for me is the finish so I would avoid coke as it seems to me it would kill the finish.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

This rum is deep, complex, powerful, and surprisingly good. Heady, oaky pot-still aromas fill your nostrils. There is the harshness of youth without any alcohol smell. The mouth is prickly, oaky, with some caramel, but is delightfully dry. Somewhat reminiscent of Havana Club Selección. The finish is short.

This rum is a delight—great in cocktails, fantastic neat. And a great deal! Too bad they sugar the gunpowder and 15-year version :(

8+

5bd42496ccfef3a9554af15a04d0103a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 156 ratings

This rum is unbelievably good for its price.
Quite unique taste and aroma. Lighlty reminds whiskey with smoked rags aroma, but taste is lightly sweet with oak notes and fruity longlasting finish.
Excellent

0f36ca7b41b74539eb7ff990b56b1b0a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Beausoleil from Canada with 2 ratings

At our last Naval reunion this was used at TOT time for our ration. It was just like the rum we were once issued and is definately not a sipping rum. It must be mixed as regulations demanded. I find the price is too high for the rating.

6635290dd2ddaaccfc8bc9e2a4ea119a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from Canada with 7 ratings

When the Navy went out shopping for rum for the sailors they found the cheapest rot gut they could buy and this follows in that tradition.