Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (317 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
29
51
96
85
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


317 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

The classic Pusser`s Rum perfect for the Painkiller cocktail and really, it is! a good middle-range rum usable in most mixed drinks and Tiki drinks.Only the added sugar (20g/L) takes down my rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

I discovered Pusser’s dark rum with fresh grapefruit juice a favorite and drink it regularly now at home when entertaining. Forget just mixing white rums with juices, Pusser’s is my preferred rum with fresh juices!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ND Pirate from United States with 3 ratings

My favorite everyday rum. I know it catches a lot of heat from the rum snobs, but I truly believe that they should give it another go. Yea, it can have a little "bite", but it mellows out after bit.

Can't beat the Pusser story either. Just adds that little extra pizzazz to the experience.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

Only got to try this as a rum n coke a couple of times in a pub in North Yorkshire... very nice , need to try without a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 4 ratings

I don't say this as a put-down, but this one was made for rum & coke. Made with three different rums, the Demerara dominates. Raisins for sure, and a slight harshness that somehow complements the sweetness of the coke, and the two marry in wedded bliss. On the rocks with a splash of coke, no lime needed, and you can drink this to the point of comfortable numbness.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by dragon from Slovenia with 18 ratings

I got this bottle from a good friend of mine, he bought it on Free shop at Caribbeans. Not available here and the bottle went so quickly.
Will look for another one beacause this is great stuff. So smooth and drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very nice character with this one and mostly mixed with coke n lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

Not bad for whatever the occasion calls for and not overly expensive to boot.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not a my favorite sipping rum. Nice flavors but a little to much alcohol bite for just sipping which is my preferred method of consumption

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Sipping this rum, there is a noticeable burn at first which mellows out quickly, leaving behind a pleasant woody, fruity essence. Too much alcohol punch for me to recommend as a sipper. But I'm finding that in drinks which call for a dark rum, Pusser's will be tough beat for its local availability, competitive price point, and tastiness. I'm also a sucker for the story behind the brand. I can imagine keeping at least one bottle on hand at all times for making cocktails and punches.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by oldhew from United States with 4 ratings

Certainly sippable, an excellent mixer. This versatile rum has overtones of dried fruit and perhaps caramel or butterscotch that make for an interesting sip. Very smooth, with little harsh "alcohol" taste.