Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (314 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
13
28
50
95
86
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


314 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E86acf7db1e66a9ad1f93026117ff02a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

Fc0f454d7c9d007051361eaf5bcab1dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 3 ratings

I don't say this as a put-down, but this one was made for rum & coke. Made with three different rums, the Demerara dominates. Raisins for sure, and a slight harshness that somehow complements the sweetness of the coke, and the two marry in wedded bliss. On the rocks with a splash of coke, no lime needed, and you can drink this to the point of comfortable numbness.

6f76e883b453a59c9c3ecf5f3c079d7e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by dragon from Slovenia with 17 ratings

I got this bottle from a good friend of mine, he bought it on Free shop at Caribbeans. Not available here and the bottle went so quickly.
Will look for another one beacause this is great stuff. So smooth and drinkable.

2cdbcefa7d32dc71666e8d1a413cd711.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very nice character with this one and mostly mixed with coke n lime.

1be4adae1f2a6e785267fd6ed3745b5d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 46 ratings

Not bad for whatever the occasion calls for and not overly expensive to boot.

C58ff00b4e333c72a55a9a40561826cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not a my favorite sipping rum. Nice flavors but a little to much alcohol bite for just sipping which is my preferred method of consumption

4de7675faaf0335c92e211279322774f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Sipping this rum, there is a noticeable burn at first which mellows out quickly, leaving behind a pleasant woody, fruity essence. Too much alcohol punch for me to recommend as a sipper. But I'm finding that in drinks which call for a dark rum, Pusser's will be tough beat for its local availability, competitive price point, and tastiness. I'm also a sucker for the story behind the brand. I can imagine keeping at least one bottle on hand at all times for making cocktails and punches.

93000d8afff5da6cec9dce948fa8c54e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by oldhew from United States with 4 ratings

Certainly sippable, an excellent mixer. This versatile rum has overtones of dried fruit and perhaps caramel or butterscotch that make for an interesting sip. Very smooth, with little harsh "alcohol" taste.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

i have come to truly appreciate the spicy molasses taste and the reduced sweetness compared to other sugared rums. this is truly good rum. makes a fine cocktail and goes down just fine in a glass of ice, although it's a little rough on the pallet when compared to the 15 year variation.

Ca8f063278fe0aaf8af1a0afda39536a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Lou from United States with 1 rating

This is my first luv. Fell in love with it in BVI. Smooth and clean.

4f3e0696ff652867b33a8f62b0bf5f8b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

If your looking for a rum to act as a benchmark against all others, look no longer.
Full of flavour, a mild bite, warms all the way down and a taste that lingers.
Personally I don’t mix this as I don’t find it as harsh as some people have suggested.
A true rum.
No wonder the Royal Navy ruled the oceans.