Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (338 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
30
58
103
90
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

338 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Not bad or great. Strong flavor. Reminds me a little of appleton estate reserve but not quite as good.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

Cheap but not a bad drop, nice n black and well worth the adventure

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pditty911 from United States with 10 ratings

I had this rum on my honeymoon resort in St Thomas. The bar was offering a tropical mixing class and I was the only one who showed up. What happened next was the stuff of lengends... ok me and the bar tender got blasted drunk. The first rum he had me sample was Pusser's and I was hooked. we mixed Pino Coladas, Mud slides,... and thats all I can remember but it was fun. My wife caught up with me later on the beach talking to two gals in bikinis about the iguanas falling out of the trees and into their pool. So anyway, this is a good rum with a bit of spice and not to dry for a gateway into the more expensive rums. A great value for the money and it will impress your friends without emptying your wallet. Just don't let your bride catch you mixing it up with the ladies.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Elburton from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A punchy flavour, more ‘rummy’ than most. Best with a favourite mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

I always assumed that "navy" rum came from the bottom of the barrel but this was closer to the top. Bought it for a friend and tried it with a bit of ice. Good flavour that seemed more natural than forced with additives, not at all harsh, and a lingering finish. So I bought another for myself and continue to enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

On the low end, it's a bit tough to get through sadly.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Its good, but I could not find anythig special to it and there are no arguments for me to future purchase, yet I respect it, with its history and so on..

Final verdict:
Not hitting m cabinet in the future

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

First of all, this smells lovely, more so than your average standard Navy Rums, which tend to have a generic "Rum" taste, whilst Pussars has an array and depth of flavours. All in all, good value for money and a very acceptable Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

I bought this bottle for curiosity, reading some comments about this rum.
Nice bottle, very low price 28€.. cheap !
The color is light amber more gold, the density in the glass is good, also the mark left on the wall is good, melassa rum need to have it .
From the nose : the first impact is very soft, not big flavor vanish, after wild alcohol grove, more bourbon then rum, at the very end light spicy ... very light.
On the mouth : first the melassa , not too sweet very moderate, second some fruits but really short lasting and after the alcohol with good mark lasting but only few second, the aging in the bourbon barrique left a big aroma but at the end cover the real rum flavor.. good for cocktail not for real degustation

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Smooth and warming. Not at all hot. Molasses and caramel, lightly sweet with a long drying finish. Great aftertaste. Lightly numbing on the mouth. Light oak and some fruity character. This is a great sipping rum and for the money it's hard to beat. ($19 in Ohio 5/19) For this price you can use it generously in any cocktail requiring aged rum too. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

I’m sipping this neat more and more. Brown sugar, slightly funky, and alcohol forward.