Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.9/10 (319 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
30
51
96
86
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


319 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 189 ratings

Rhum très boisé et au goûter le caramel un peu vanillée, on sent un peu la Jamaïque. Au nez chocolat et cognac. Je m'attendais à mieux mais correct.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This was my first ever drink of real rum on a rum ashore.
Before this it was the likes of lambs.
But like all pussers an amazing rum perfect for toasts

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

When you Charter a boat in BVI they always give you a bottle of Pusser's. I think it is tough and nasty, just like the British Navy! You can mix it with cola but never try it straight! There are just too many good runs out there!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

I discovered Pusser’s dark rum with fresh grapefruit juice a favorite and drink it regularly now at home when entertaining. Forget just mixing white rums with juices, Pusser’s is my preferred rum with fresh juices!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ND Pirate from United States with 3 ratings

My favorite everyday rum. I know it catches a lot of heat from the rum snobs, but I truly believe that they should give it another go. Yea, it can have a little "bite", but it mellows out after bit.

Can't beat the Pusser story either. Just adds that little extra pizzazz to the experience.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

Only got to try this as a rum n coke a couple of times in a pub in North Yorkshire... very nice , need to try without a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 4 ratings

I don't say this as a put-down, but this one was made for rum & coke. Made with three different rums, the Demerara dominates. Raisins for sure, and a slight harshness that somehow complements the sweetness of the coke, and the two marry in wedded bliss. On the rocks with a splash of coke, no lime needed, and you can drink this to the point of comfortable numbness.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by dragon from Slovenia with 18 ratings

I got this bottle from a good friend of mine, he bought it on Free shop at Caribbeans. Not available here and the bottle went so quickly.
Will look for another one beacause this is great stuff. So smooth and drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very nice character with this one and mostly mixed with coke n lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

Not bad for whatever the occasion calls for and not overly expensive to boot.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not a my favorite sipping rum. Nice flavors but a little to much alcohol bite for just sipping which is my preferred method of consumption