Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
365 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
15
32
61
116
93
35
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

365 Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 477 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 39 ratings

Pussers has grown in me as probably my favorite sipper on the rocks, reason? it’s delicious and that’s it! I could go on about the slightly funky pot still nose and the smokey Demerara flavor but in the end my taste says it’s a 10! I have tried a LOT up to $100 4square etc, but this in my opinion is better:)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 59 ratings

Had to try because of the history behind it, but would not purchase it again... Emblematic however... lacks flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

At si ho namornici pijou, do coly ok, jinak bych doplnil “r” hned po P

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Djgross144 from United States with 50 ratings

Sailed in the BVI numerous times. Pusser is known as an essential ingredient for the Painkiller, a luscious combination of dark rum, pineapple, juice, orange juice, creme of coconut, and nutmeg. The rum has nice nose with caramel, and a slight bite. Try it, you'll like it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

The main characteristic that drowns out most of the rest in Pusser's British Navy is the alcohol. This is a good rum, but its strong smell of alcohol, spicy and funky taste (sometimes even too funky in my opinion) and noticeable harshness simply isn't for everyone. I like it personally, especially with ice to smooth it out or mixed, but there's other rums I would prefer to sip instead of this in almost any situation. It is very well priced though, so no reason not to try it at least once.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by haross from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Je z něj výrazně cítit dřevo a cosi připomínající hovězí kůži. Chuť zajímavá, ale na mě příliš agresivní a ostrá. Vhodná spíš pro drsný námořníky než pro mě. Ale má svůj styl.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 22 ratings

For me the smell is offensive, it’s a chemical sweat that makes me feel sick. The taste isn’t much better, it’s a strong astringent like fermenting raisins mixed with old English furniture polish. I’ll let the bottle breath and try again at another date. Now I’m getting an old tobacco aftertaste, which is better than the initial mouthful.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by engineerLANDO from United States with 6 ratings

It’s good. I have to say...Really, really Good! I expected it to be sub-par simply because of the average ratings but I was shocked. This rum is GOOD ! I mean, don’t get me wrong...it doesn’t taste like a million dollar rum. But as an everyday supper, this rum is great. Right off the nose and can taste something wooden, smoky, definitely something spicy. It stays with you and then mellows to a fruity note long afterwards. Really deep flavor for a rum at this price point. Sort of like an old friend helping to reef that sail on a stormy sea or a good weighted axe in the hand chopping wood in the falling snow. This is the rum for that. It’s got just the right flavor. You can really tell it’s a tried and true classic!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by YohoYoho from United States with 10 ratings

The first navy rum I ever had - great in cocktails, but I also like it as a sipper a lot. Can definitely taste the molasses. Highly recommended!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jackw625 from United States with 32 ratings

This rum has a very distinct flavor though a little strong. Flavor totally changes on ice