Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (332 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
30
57
100
89
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


332 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

First of all, this smells lovely, more so than your average standard Navy Rums, which tend to have a generic "Rum" taste, whilst Pussars has an array and depth of flavours. All in all, good value for money and a very acceptable Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

I bought this bottle for curiosity, reading some comments about this rum.
Nice bottle, very low price 28€.. cheap !
The color is light amber more gold, the density in the glass is good, also the mark left on the wall is good, melassa rum need to have it .
From the nose : the first impact is very soft, not big flavor vanish, after wild alcohol grove, more bourbon then rum, at the very end light spicy ... very light.
On the mouth : first the melassa , not too sweet very moderate, second some fruits but really short lasting and after the alcohol with good mark lasting but only few second, the aging in the bourbon barrique left a big aroma but at the end cover the real rum flavor.. good for cocktail not for real degustation

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Smooth and warming. Not at all hot. Molasses and caramel, lightly sweet with a long drying finish. Great aftertaste. Lightly numbing on the mouth. Light oak and some fruity character. This is a great sipping rum and for the money it's hard to beat. ($19 in Ohio 5/19) For this price you can use it generously in any cocktail requiring aged rum too. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

I’m sipping this neat more and more. Brown sugar, slightly funky, and alcohol forward.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Something smells rubber tire...
Is this only me ?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Super rum za rozumnu cenu, zmes demerara rumov, sladsi, ovocny, bezpochyby jeden z naj rumov, aky som pil, no a samozrejme cela ta historia za nim. 8+

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Calmar from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Аромат насыщенный, сладко-солёный, нотки солёного сала и чеснока, вкус проседает, обожжёный дуб, жжёные сухари и соус терияки, чай пу эр, ощущение что ром выдерживали в бочке из-под Олоросо, но в целом неплохо. 6/10 

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by th3cha5er from Australia with 2 ratings

Absolutely killer rum. A great introduction to the pussers rum series.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Petr Gabriel from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

This rum has just a strong sharp taste with nothing specific or interesting. It tastes like whiskey (which is a spirit that I dont like to drink much). This rum is just not my kind of taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

Excellent rum that packs a punch.. Would be a sin to mix with coke so either on the rocks or straight up
... See how long you last straight up