Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


304 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

For being a heavy Navy rum I assumed I would love this. But the more I sipped the less I liked. I may just have to keep this for The Painkiller Cocktail only. Interested to see what the Red Label is like. Maybe it's more my wheelhouse.

Posted over 4 years ago by Thomas McClure from United States with 16 ratings

I tried this for the first time today. It's aroma was slightly sweet, but still had a hint behind it that told me that it wasn't messing around. Not sweet enough for me to enjoy it on a regular basis, but I am ok with that. I pour a little in my glass, and it is very light at first, but gains depth when you pour more. I mix my Sprite with it, like I typically do, and take a sip. I am unsure of what to think about it at first. I can tell my mixture choice was wrong, but the rum wasn't bad. I want to give it a higher rating than I did, because I can tell it has potential. For those that like to drink things straight, I am sure you will enjoy this one, just make sure it is only slightly chilled. I do not think it would fair very well ice cold, or warm. That also may be my preference though. As for those of us that like to mix, do not just do it with Sprite. Find an older rum sour mixture, and I am sure this will go well. I am talking squeeze the fruit old mixture. Not the sour mix, even though it may work also. I plan on making a painkiller with this sometime this weekend. Hopefully it fairs well.

Posted over 4 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

I was first introduced to Pussers rum on my first sailboat trip to BVI's too many years ago. At the time, when it cost less than ten bucks, we used it to make "boat drinks"; pain killers, rum punch, gumbay smash etc. When I can't afford the airfare, having a taste of Pussers brings me a little closer to the BVI's.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Da jeg er helt ny inden for rommens verden, har jeg bestræbt mig på at få rom fra hele verden, for at sammenligne dem og for at finde den jeg så vil "satse" på.
(180 kr hos Dansk-Vinlager.dk)

Nærmere beskrivelse af rommen kommer hurtigts muligt :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Especially painkiller is great but this rum itself is not that tasty for me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

I own this rum just to make Pain Killers. Not a bad rum, I've mixed it, put it on the rocks and even tried neat.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Delicious in cocktails... especially on a Sunday afternoon on Camden Beach

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Tart, almost too sweet of a taste, medium finish that doesn't get any better. Limited spice but still present. Almost a spoiled fruit.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Bottles I had in the UK were much stronger. Much tastier too. Feel like we're getting a lesser product here in the states.

Getting Chocolate and Leather with this one. A fair sipper.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

Whether I'm needing a navy-style, or a generally good mixing rum, I try to always have Pusser's on my shelf. Mmm...the Painkiller...so refreshing. This is another workhorse of mine because it plays so well with other rums.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is a 8.5
There is a Caribbean themed bar around the corner that serves this rum almost exclusively in its mixed rum drinks and its didn't bring me any surprise when I found out it sold the most alcohol of all bars/restaurants in Michigan. I would make a large bet it is because of this rum, literally there is a employee at the place that makes nonstop painkillers, that is his job all day everyday.
Smelling the rum you know you got something good. When you first pop the top off (its corked) the aromas come out and even at a 3ft distance you can smell it. Smelling from the bottle you get a whole slew of hints of sugar, vanilla, alcohol,cask (oak), some fruit in there too. Now what makes it stand out for me is its boldness. Drinking it neat is fine, its not harsh at all, its warming but not harsh. But goodness it dives into your whole pallet front to back you know this is a real navy rum. In cola it doesn't even get tamed. You still get all the punch of the rum and its flavours. Its sweet with a nice heat and alcohol punch, the oak cask lingers in the back many other flavors can be found but im not the greatest and picking them all out and naming them distinctively.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Devan from New Zealand with 10 ratings

I have been wanting to try a pussers rum for sometime and decided on the blue label due to unavailability of the 15YO. The bottle proudly has the St George's ensign emblazoned atop, with the blue background and I feel like I'm already at sea. Unbottling reveals a light mahogany color. Swirling and the rum is lighter than I thought but this is consistent with the color. Light to medium legs, thin. I REALLY like this on the nose! I capture oak, vanilla, baked spices and light orange all together. It is simple and delicious. On the air, this rum calls to me, this is how rum should smell. I let it sit in the glass for 15 minutes, inhale and taste. Oak up front, well oaked ...sweet toffee and vanilla, the spices apparent in the 2nd sip. This rum isn't supposed to be complex. It's simplicity is its strength, less is more and all that. Although in the mouth the experience is short lived, down the throat presents a warm almost hot, lingering and lasting story. I feel this all the way to my stomach. I already have a 2nd glass sitting with a cube of ice. The ice takes the heat off and is easier on the way down for the 2nd tasting.
Overall I am really, really pleased with this rum! It's simple, sweet, well oaked with enough complexity to keep the advanced taster interested, and the not so accomplished rum drinker smiling. Thanks pussers for this first time experience, I look forward to comparing the OP blue and 15YO red.

Posted about 5 years ago by candyman from Australia with 1 rating

Sharp initially but a clean finish. Rich and creamy texture

Posted about 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

Wonderful, old-fashioned rum taste with enough sweetness and complexity to make the little burn at the end thoroughly enjoyable.

Posted about 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This rum combines tastes from tequila and calvados with whisky..

Posted over 5 years ago by Moggy from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

My grandad introduced me to this before I drank rum and it blew my head off! Now I can appreciate it properly - certainly not the smoothest but I'd never dream of drinking it any other way than neat.

Posted over 5 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Stränger Rum - etwas für richtige Seeleute. Eine gute Ergänzung in jeder Rum Sammlung.

Posted over 5 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 36 ratings

Très bon nez, malgré son degré élevé on retrouve des odeurs boisées... Assez doux au palet, on retrouve des arômes sucrées.

Posted over 5 years ago by Loulander from United States with 2 ratings

Has a nice rounded, well- bodied taste that packs a nice punch at the end of a sip. So far, this makes the best Mai Tai I have had mixed with the Zaya rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

You can see why the navy would give this to its sailors. Strong and sugary. You need to try it if for nothing else because of its history. Basic rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mike Anthony from Canada with 8 ratings

As a sailor for 29 years, I have enjoyed Pusser's rum on several occasions when it was supplied by the Queen. It was difficult to find locally for a while, but I managed to get some when they brought back the original blend in the ceramic flasks and decanters. It seems to me that that was a much better version. At any rate, it is now available in all the local vendors establishments. The rum is a rum drinkers rum. Strong, full taste and a long after taste. Good on the rocks or with a splash of water and a wedge of lime.

Posted over 5 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Pussers is an excellent sipping rum and very smooth in a mix. Although not as highly rated as it's 15 yr brother, this is still worth buying. Strong but pleasant brown sugar flavor is notable.

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Normally I don't tend to like rums over 40% as I find them too spirity. But this, sipping slowly, doesn't burn and warms you nicely and really doesn't come across as 54.5%. Molasses and treacle abound. Very good if you like this style.

Posted over 5 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 33 ratings

Great in grog for it's authenticity. Strong, and it needs to breathe. But not a profile I'd drink straight.