Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (338 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
14
30
58
103
90
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

338 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Not bad or great. Strong flavor. Reminds me a little of appleton estate reserve but not quite as good.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dennis Cufone from United States with 12 ratings

I've only experienced this one in the Virgin Islands in Painkillers and it's great for that. Never had the urge to drink it straight up.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rudi from Poland with 10 ratings

I liked Pusser's for what it is, a mixing rum, with a pleasant taste. Aroma is a bit harsher than the taste might let you think, but once you taste it, it convinces.
This is by far the best option when you adjust for price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tommyo from United States with 10 ratings

give your tiki cocktail that distinct Pussers taste with this Tiki Bar staple

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

The old-style, 15 year old Pusser's is in my top 5 rums - a classic rum funkiness with a hint of spice and a dash of sweetness. I've heard the new style 15 year old of the last year is not very good. I won't be buying it then. The good news is that it's younger sibling is pretty good and roughly a third of the price. It has all the same tones, flavours, aromas and pleasures as the 15 year old, but just not quite as smoothly and as well-refined. Make no mistake, though, this is a great rum - especially for about £22. Sign me up for a case!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Schultem from Canada with 6 ratings

Solid overall for the price. Good as a mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumsunset from United States with 3 ratings

A so-so taste neat or as a mixer. Kind of surprised as it was the traditional rum of the British Navy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

Nothing special here. If you’re making painkillers it’s the beat choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Pusser's British Navy - ok but nothing more . Price ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

As per my title, used to love this stuff but now find it over the top. Best use would be in battle to light up a fire ship. Alcohol is over the top and the whole thing is out of balance. Almost no caramel or molasses, it's hard to say exactly what the flavors are. Still as a punch in the arm mixer I would still recommend. Best in a Zombie if you want not to add the 151.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Un rhum étonnant qui vous fera voyager de par son histoire, son degré d'alcool ne gâche en rien sa qualité!