Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy rum

Pusser's British Navy

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10 (332 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
14
30
57
100
89
31
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


332 Pusser's British Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

Nothing special here. If you’re making painkillers it’s the beat choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Pusser's British Navy - ok but nothing more . Price ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

As per my title, used to love this stuff but now find it over the top. Best use would be in battle to light up a fire ship. Alcohol is over the top and the whole thing is out of balance. Almost no caramel or molasses, it's hard to say exactly what the flavors are. Still as a punch in the arm mixer I would still recommend. Best in a Zombie if you want not to add the 151.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Benja M77 from Belgium with 17 ratings

Un rhum étonnant qui vous fera voyager de par son histoire, son degré d'alcool ne gâche en rien sa qualité!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

Cheap but not a bad drop, nice n black and well worth the adventure

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pditty911 from United States with 10 ratings

I had this rum on my honeymoon resort in St Thomas. The bar was offering a tropical mixing class and I was the only one who showed up. What happened next was the stuff of lengends... ok me and the bar tender got blasted drunk. The first rum he had me sample was Pusser's and I was hooked. we mixed Pino Coladas, Mud slides,... and thats all I can remember but it was fun. My wife caught up with me later on the beach talking to two gals in bikinis about the iguanas falling out of the trees and into their pool. So anyway, this is a good rum with a bit of spice and not to dry for a gateway into the more expensive rums. A great value for the money and it will impress your friends without emptying your wallet. Just don't let your bride catch you mixing it up with the ladies.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Elburton from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A punchy flavour, more ‘rummy’ than most. Best with a favourite mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

I always assumed that "navy" rum came from the bottom of the barrel but this was closer to the top. Bought it for a friend and tried it with a bit of ice. Good flavour that seemed more natural than forced with additives, not at all harsh, and a lingering finish. So I bought another for myself and continue to enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

On the low end, it's a bit tough to get through sadly.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Its good, but I could not find anythig special to it and there are no arguments for me to future purchase, yet I respect it, with its history and so on..

Final verdict:
Not hitting m cabinet in the future