Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
365 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
3
15
32
61
116
93
35
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

365 Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 477 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the Pusser's 15, as it's dominated by bourbon and lacking in rum characteristics that I love, so I wasn't sure how I'd like this. The 15 is far better. I realize this rum was probably intended for mixing, but I rate rums by their taste straight. To me, this is no sipper.

Smells of a harsh spice, whiskey, and oak, with just a hint of sugar, vanilla, and toffee. Taste is also harsh; the 42%abv is a bit too much for the flavor. To me, this whiskey flavor doesn't go well with the rum. If my opinion changes I'll update my score, but so far after several tastings, I'm sticking with my original review.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by HotSpicyDisco from United States with 18 ratings

This is by far the best rum I've found for making painkillers. The sweetness, spice, heat, and oak are perfectly balanced even in a very strong Painkiller.

Okay for sipping on ice or with a splash of seltzer.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Yum it’s nice when you can find it! I’m lucky to have a few rum bars near me. This is one I drink every time. Also for me it’s always with cola!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoy a strong rum, tonic and lime. It’s simply perfect for this. I’ve tried it on other “tiki” drinks, but it’s just got too much flavor (not a bad thing). I bought a good white rum. This would also sub as a (almost) good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Vůně je silně rumová, ale se sladkým karamelovým nádechem. Chuť jednoznačně karamelová, s medem a vanilkou s dubem, skořicí, a vnímaví degustátoři mohou objevit i muškátový oříšek a zázvor. Svou sílu ale rozhodně neskrývá a závěr je příjemně dlouhý, a cítit je jemnou, ne nepříjemnou dřevitost sudu.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted over 1 year ago by Neman3 from Canada with 112 ratings

Origin: Guyana
42%
All is pleasant in this 40CAD bottle. Smells attractive. Very smooth, no alcohol burn. Amazing, unique dried fruits taste. Original Demerara (I guess) sugar makes it sweet in the golden ratio with dryness. Tiny touches of spices are great.
Not that long aftertaste, but again it signals to pour the extra glass.
Cheers! To the end of qurantine ASAP!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

So good. The best for mixing with anything creamy like a painkiller or vanilla ice cream.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 17 ratings

I'll say this: if I were a naval officer, after a long day, I'd want something rationed to me that'd kick like a mule too. However, I am very far from a naval officer, so this is definitely far off enjoyable to me. It is unbalanced, with a distinct off-smell that seems less interesting and more annoying followed by an overpowering acetone note that gives the distinct hint of metal. Overall, there are much less loud options offering a much more complex and enjoyable experience for less money.

Small img 0953

Posted over 1 year ago by MerMama from United States with 30 ratings

Starts out with a high funk smell, spanks you with a banana, then wafts off into a ripe banana afterglow.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 49 ratings

Our favorite drink is probably the painkiller, and this is "required" for that... you can totally use other rums and it will be a great drink, but for a "purist", this is the only choice. And it's pretty cheap, comparatively, so why would you want to search out something else?
It's also great in several other drinks - strong sugar and caramel flavors, not a lot to dig in to. In summary, it plays well with others

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Cdiaz from United States with 6 ratings

I love this rum. Strong caramel aroma and taste. Earthy, cane notes and more caramel at the finish. Great sipper or in darker drinks.