Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof rum

Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

8.1/10
48 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
3
20
16
4

Rate Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

48 Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Polish pirate from Poland with 17 ratings

Całkiem, całkiem... Można kupić jeszcze raz ... Fajną paletka

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 9 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 237 ratings

Have had this bottle on my Jamaican shelf for a while.
The launching of this rum, together with its 46% ABV brother, marking an historic moment for all rum enthusiasts loving the 100% funky pot still rum from Jamaica.
It’s very complex, dry and intense. It’s quite hard for me to detect the aromas and flavors because of the complexity and high ABV, but I can recognize cherries, oak and spices. The finish is long, elegant and subtle.
No need for expensive Veliers anymore.
Pictures: My Jamaican shelf & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kylebrown247 from United States with 2 ratings

This is my first bottle of self-label Hampden, and it’s excellent. Decently funky, still recognizably Jamaican, but with a lot of fun citrus and mango notes that I have never really had before. The bottle and label are fun, too. Very impressed.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 387 ratings

After more than a year this rum is still available almost everywhere and in Italy it is sometimes offered for 50 €. In many reviews I have already read that the 8 year old thinner brother already brings just as many flavors and the surcharge is not justified here. The when the new LROK with 47% is offered at a price of 125 euros, it is worth to have a look at this outcast Hampden.
It is a blend of OWH / LFCH / DOK that was tropically aged for 8 years. I don't know whether there are several versions of it, as with the younger brother. I have the bottle with 8 years of maturation on the back and on the front too.

Nose: Very sweet and sharp nose that initially reminds me of LFCH. But then leaves an impression of higher marks with more fruitiness. Sweet tropical fruits can be perceived, apples, pineapples, papays, then slightly salty, malty notes. That's when I think of pretzel sticks with beer. I find young bourbon wood deeper in the glass, but be careful when sticking your nose into the glass, it is quite sharp and you can leave it in the glass for an hour.

Taste: It starts off slightly salty with vanilla, then we have the pretzel sticks with a little bourbon wood influence. That's the LFCH influence. Immediately spills over into the fruity aromas, increases in spiciness, becomes malty and salty again. Then again fruity, exploding with the entire fruit palette, there are against apple, pineapple, honey, papaya. Then he goes sharply with salty and malty flavors.
The finish is very long because it is very spicy. The 60% is not a problem for me, but inexperienced rum pirates are easily overwhelmed. It is recommended to enjoy it in small sips.

Aftertaste: Lots of LFCH malt, pretzel sticks, also light fruit aromas

Conclusion: I think he's better than the younger brother. I missed the fruity aromas back then, maybe the dilution was less good for him. It is quite hot and strong, but I could still imagine it to be a bit more fruity to reduce the salty aromas.
Overall a very good and underrated rum, a bargain for me for the price.

Overall rating: 87 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 4/5
Sharpness: 4.5 / 5
Complexity: 3.5 / 5
Value (60 €): 4/5

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 7 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 154 ratings

This is really close to the regular 8 y with 46 ABV . This is just a bit more powerfull on nose and taste. Not sure if this is actually better. Really great both of them with a extremely fair price.

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 9 months ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 33 ratings

Nice natural colour with a great sweet and fruity smell. A lot of esters but not to mutch. The taste of overripe bananas and sweet pineaple does the trick. The taste ends long with a subtile wooden flavor. Great rum for a great price. This rum will get way more expensive in the future.

Small 8730f4af a452 4df6 a335 caa05c11cd49

Posted 1 year ago by rennerg from United States with 36 ratings

This stuff is amazing. It has everything you could ask for in a great rum: high hogo, tropical fruit notes of turned bananas and pineapples, a long burnt sugar finish. It makes a hell of an impression and is worth the price point.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

I am unsure of this rum. Through my journey I have found I enjoy rums from Barbados over Jamaica. I've read about Jamaican Rums and their "funk". I do not feel this has a heavy dose of "funk" however it has a strong bite I do not enjoy so much. A lot of rum I tend to like is also aged in casks which alter the profiles as well. This one was extremely different from what I am used to. It's not terrible, but not for the faint of heart. I have only been expanding my rum cabinet for about 3-4 months, so I might have to come back to this after a while to see if my opinion is still the same.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

this was fantastic. the nose is surprisingly complex for such a high proof. the esters are not too front and there is some lovely barrel and caramelized tastes at the front. the finish is like a hint of charred pineapple? i really like it. kind of smokey and yet a tiny bit of bright acidity. i know some don't like the high proof but when it is executed with so much character, the burn and then the very long last tingle on the tongue and lips is really something. this is truly a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the third rum of the night, that we tasted side-by-side with its 46abv brother. This was just a mouthful of flavour. Not the biggest funk taste, but certainly something for all (Jamaican) rumfans.

Nose: Overripe pineapple, ginger, vax and some hints of oaky sweetness and funk
Taste: Oak, overripe tropical fruits, bananas, funk, ginger and a small hint of brown sugar with a long and warm aftertaste that lingers for quite a while.
Overall: This is really a great bottle of rum. If you are really into the funky stuff from Jamaica, then you might want to give this a pass, but it would be a mistake. For all others this is a must-try if you have the chance.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 49 ratings

This rum is very strong. If you can't enjoy overproof rum you should not taste this one and go for the 46% instead. Fruity rum, no sugar at all as all Jamaican rum, very long finish, persistent molasses in the end, not an everyday rum.