Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof rum

Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

8.1/10(40 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
3
15
14
3

Rate Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

40 Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 3 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 212 ratings

Have had this bottle on my Jamaican shelf for a while.
The launching of this rum, together with its 46% ABV brother, marking an historic moment for all rum enthusiasts loving the 100% funky pot still rum from Jamaica.
It’s very complex, dry and intense. It’s quite hard for me to detect the aromas and flavors because of the complexity and high ABV, but I can recognize cherries, oak and spices. The finish is long, elegant and subtle.
No need for expensive Veliers anymore.
Pictures: My Jamaican shelf & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by kylebrown247 from United States with 2 ratings

This is my first bottle of self-label Hampden, and it’s excellent. Decently funky, still recognizably Jamaican, but with a lot of fun citrus and mango notes that I have never really had before. The bottle and label are fun, too. Very impressed.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 24 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 147 ratings

This is really close to the regular 8 y with 46 ABV . This is just a bit more powerfull on nose and taste. Not sure if this is actually better. Really great both of them with a extremely fair price.

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 2 months ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 23 ratings

Nice natural colour with a great sweet and fruity smell. A lot of esters but not to mutch. The taste of overripe bananas and sweet pineaple does the trick. The taste ends long with a subtile wooden flavor. Great rum for a great price. This rum will get way more expensive in the future.

Small 8730f4af a452 4df6 a335 caa05c11cd49

Posted 6 months ago by rennerg from United States with 28 ratings

This stuff is amazing. It has everything you could ask for in a great rum: high hogo, tropical fruit notes of turned bananas and pineapples, a long burnt sugar finish. It makes a hell of an impression and is worth the price point.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 50 ratings

this was fantastic. the nose is surprisingly complex for such a high proof. the esters are not too front and there is some lovely barrel and caramelized tastes at the front. the finish is like a hint of charred pineapple? i really like it. kind of smokey and yet a tiny bit of bright acidity. i know some don't like the high proof but when it is executed with so much character, the burn and then the very long last tingle on the tongue and lips is really something. this is truly a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the third rum of the night, that we tasted side-by-side with its 46abv brother. This was just a mouthful of flavour. Not the biggest funk taste, but certainly something for all (Jamaican) rumfans.

Nose: Overripe pineapple, ginger, vax and some hints of oaky sweetness and funk
Taste: Oak, overripe tropical fruits, bananas, funk, ginger and a small hint of brown sugar with a long and warm aftertaste that lingers for quite a while.
Overall: This is really a great bottle of rum. If you are really into the funky stuff from Jamaica, then you might want to give this a pass, but it would be a mistake. For all others this is a must-try if you have the chance.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 48 ratings

This rum is very strong. If you can't enjoy overproof rum you should not taste this one and go for the 46% instead. Fruity rum, no sugar at all as all Jamaican rum, very long finish, persistent molasses in the end, not an everyday rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 213 ratings

Tried this full throttle rum at the bartenders request whilst in the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsunday Isles in North Queensland recently..
Now im not a lover of high ester overproof rums from Jamaica but this was very nice , even easily approachable at 60% ABV.. Full on fruits , over ripe bananas , mango , pineapple notes.. no added sugar or colouring , just in your face natural high octane rum !
Its 8 years old and 100% pot stilled for that funky , funky experience.. its a rum you will either love or hate.. on this particular night I loved it ! Reggae me up mon..

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Polish pirate from Poland with 13 ratings

Całkiem, całkiem... Można kupić jeszcze raz ... Fajną paletka