Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof rum

Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

7.9/10 (26 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
2
10
8
2

Rate Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by rennerg from United States with 21 ratings

This stuff is amazing. It has everything you could ask for in a great rum: high hogo, tropical fruit notes of turned bananas and pineapples, a long burnt sugar finish. It makes a hell of an impression and is worth the price point.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by kylebrown247 from United States with 2 ratings

This is my first bottle of self-label Hampden, and it’s excellent. Decently funky, still recognizably Jamaican, but with a lot of fun citrus and mango notes that I have never really had before. The bottle and label are fun, too. Very impressed.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

this was fantastic. the nose is surprisingly complex for such a high proof. the esters are not too front and there is some lovely barrel and caramelized tastes at the front. the finish is like a hint of charred pineapple? i really like it. kind of smokey and yet a tiny bit of bright acidity. i know some don't like the high proof but when it is executed with so much character, the burn and then the very long last tingle on the tongue and lips is really something. this is truly a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I got the opportunity to attend a rum tasting with Daniele Biondi from Velier were we tasted 9 different rums. This was the third rum of the night, that we tasted side-by-side with its 46abv brother. This was just a mouthful of flavour. Not the biggest funk taste, but certainly something for all (Jamaican) rumfans.

Nose: Overripe pineapple, ginger, vax and some hints of oaky sweetness and funk
Taste: Oak, overripe tropical fruits, bananas, funk, ginger and a small hint of brown sugar with a long and warm aftertaste that lingers for quite a while.
Overall: This is really a great bottle of rum. If you are really into the funky stuff from Jamaica, then you might want to give this a pass, but it would be a mistake. For all others this is a must-try if you have the chance.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 45 ratings

This rum is very strong. If you can't enjoy overproof rum you should not taste this one and go for the 46% instead. Fruity rum, no sugar at all as all Jamaican rum, very long finish, persistent molasses in the end, not an everyday rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

Tried this full throttle rum at the bartenders request whilst in the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsunday Isles in North Queensland recently..
Now im not a lover of high ester overproof rums from Jamaica but this was very nice , even easily approachable at 60% ABV.. Full on fruits , over ripe bananas , mango , pineapple notes.. no added sugar or colouring , just in your face natural high octane rum !
Its 8 years old and 100% pot stilled for that funky , funky experience.. its a rum you will either love or hate.. on this particular night I loved it ! Reggae me up mon..

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 118 ratings

truly a great Jamaican single rum. Great synergy of spice, sweet, bite, and burn. Get this instead of Appleton.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Zubung from Korea, Republic of with 3 ratings

intense but not that boozy, aroma and flavor changes continueously while the bottle opened. Nice overproof rum on its price range.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 62 ratings

Aged 8 years in Jamaica
100% Pot still
Wild fermentation
Unsugared
Uncolored

Nose: Musky, caramel, smoke, salt, banana, spicy
Palate: Super "dark" and pungent. First comes a short wave of very salty caramel, then loads of pepperiness and loads of leather, smoke and oak, overripe bananas, some weird muskiness like
very dark seed oil of some sort, minerality.
Finish: Stays for a long time in mouth, especially the leather and musky aromas, after some time you get a hint of sweetness and vanilla.

Overall: Amazing rum, huge amount of pungency and flavour for not over the top amount of ester marque rum. Infact i would say this is like smith&cross cranked to a 10. Wonderful rum with wonderful heritage.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 34 ratings

I am unsure of this rum. Through my journey I have found I enjoy rums from Barbados over Jamaica. I've read about Jamaican Rums and their "funk". I do not feel this has a heavy dose of "funk" however it has a strong bite I do not enjoy so much. A lot of rum I tend to like is also aged in casks which alter the profiles as well. This one was extremely different from what I am used to. It's not terrible, but not for the faint of heart. I have only been expanding my rum cabinet for about 3-4 months, so I might have to come back to this after a while to see if my opinion is still the same.