Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (145 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
20
51
43
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C5793e368fd7a69aece0db5b1fb490d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

Leaves a nice peppery molasses tasye in the back of the throat.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

(I adjusted this down from my my initial 10 ratng when I found out it has a lot of added sugar)

One of the very few rums I like better than the regular Pusser's blue label. Really personifies what a great aged rum should be - chest-warming and robust, woody, complex. I just opened my bottle and it will probably take a while to plumb its depths.

Anyone (Verner catsey) who rates this a 5, while giving 10's to Malibu coconut and Captain Morgan Private Stock really shouldn't be rating rums. Maybe there are sites for rating sodas or something.

E86acf7db1e66a9ad1f93026117ff02a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A must have. An aged and mellowed version of the blue, slightly sweeter and more noticeable vanilla due to the mellowing of the rum in oak. This is rum at it's best made by non greedy craftsmen.

F21b05fb77bc778c5a88a9c8a0be09e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Lots of oak, planks and cut wood, that sort of thing. Baking spices (cinnamon, clove, brown sugar), vanilla, a little bit of liquorice and some tropical fruit, maybe dried mangos.

Palate: Dry at first, sappy with a medium to heavy mouth-feel. A touch of coffee and slight bitterness, a little tingle of black pepper. Not what I was expecting from rum at all.

Finish: Medium to long, but I get the feeling that it’s hanging around because the sugar has coated my mouth. Too syrupy as it moved from palate to finish, the interesting bitterness goes and there is a flatness that is brought on by the sugar. The final and lingering taste is strongly of over ripe bananas. I like bananas.

More here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/pusser-15yo-review/

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have not had the basic Pusser's rum (blue label) even though just about every liquor store in town carries it. I will get around to it eventually. However one of the stores carried the 15-year rum and I decided to get a bottle to try. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly wonderful aroma in the bottle. A full rich aroma hinting at things to come. Tasting it was indeed a treat. At first I tasted some sweetness with a little vanilla but then I got a woodiness to it followed by a little bitterness. It seems to have a little oiliness to it which coats the tongue more. A rather smooth rum equally workable as a sipping rum and as a mixer. Definitely one to try. For whatever it's worth, I do like the heraldic label.

D81268e26b641c8314f30dc2dbcb31a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Devin from Canada with 14 ratings

This tastes like a 100$ rum. In my opinion. It is very good and one of my favourites.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

Over 2,000 aged rums enjoyed over the past 15 years and Pusser's 15 year old rum is still strong on my Top 15 list. Very smooth aged rum, plenty going on flavorwise, no burn at all at the end, and the most surprising thing is the strong tobacco smell in your mouth lingering for a bit at the end. So different than all the rest and that is the reason why I like it so much.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

Smells of vegetal sugarcane, molasses, oak, and bourbon; the taste adds some spiciness. A little too much bourbon for my liking; I'm more of a rum fan.

84898c5924af05e854359af24b9e4a08.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Finally bought this one, had a soapy like flash of flavor at first. Now the bottle has had a gasp of air, the flavors are woody, warm, and deep. This has a uniqueness like the Zafra, a bold but developed journey of flavor!!!

2bfef3a735e3f8745190264042d49e69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

Never heard about this rum and it's a very good surprise, a mix of strong and sweetness with a long finish.
A must have !

5c51c5e46b4d5aba7f77e75724db6ebf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

Well! A friend of mine brought a bottle of this (wonderful) rum over to my house, and proceeded to give me yet another addiction to outstanding rums. With the first taste, I found it wasn't as sweet as the Barbados rums, but it had MUCH more character! The flavors(as I understand it) come from the distilling method using a wood pot still, rather than a more modern copper or stainless pot. Whatever, the reason, this is a Must Have in your rum collection-