Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

We prefer the Gunpowder Proof, but the 15-year old is right up there.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

(I adjusted this down from my my initial 10 ratng when I found out it has a lot of added sugar)

One of the very few rums I like better than the regular Pusser's blue label. Really personifies what a great aged rum should be - chest-warming and robust, woody, complex. I just opened my bottle and it will probably take a while to plumb its depths.

Anyone (Verner catsey) who rates this a 5, while giving 10's to Malibu coconut and Captain Morgan Private Stock really shouldn't be rating rums. Maybe there are sites for rating sodas or something.

Posted over 7 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A must have. An aged and mellowed version of the blue, slightly sweeter and more noticeable vanilla due to the mellowing of the rum in oak. This is rum at it's best made by non greedy craftsmen.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Lots of oak, planks and cut wood, that sort of thing. Baking spices (cinnamon, clove, brown sugar), vanilla, a little bit of liquorice and some tropical fruit, maybe dried mangos.

Palate: Dry at first, sappy with a medium to heavy mouth-feel. A touch of coffee and slight bitterness, a little tingle of black pepper. Not what I was expecting from rum at all.

Finish: Medium to long, but I get the feeling that it’s hanging around because the sugar has coated my mouth. Too syrupy as it moved from palate to finish, the interesting bitterness goes and there is a flatness that is brought on by the sugar. The final and lingering taste is strongly of over ripe bananas. I like bananas.

More here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/pusser-15yo-review/

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have not had the basic Pusser's rum (blue label) even though just about every liquor store in town carries it. I will get around to it eventually. However one of the stores carried the 15-year rum and I decided to get a bottle to try. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly wonderful aroma in the bottle. A full rich aroma hinting at things to come. Tasting it was indeed a treat. At first I tasted some sweetness with a little vanilla but then I got a woodiness to it followed by a little bitterness. It seems to have a little oiliness to it which coats the tongue more. A rather smooth rum equally workable as a sipping rum and as a mixer. Definitely one to try. For whatever it's worth, I do like the heraldic label.

Posted over 4 years ago by Devin from Canada with 14 ratings

This tastes like a 100$ rum. In my opinion. It is very good and one of my favourites.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Over 2,000 aged rums enjoyed over the past 15 years and Pusser's 15 year old rum is still strong on my Top 15 list. Very smooth aged rum, plenty going on flavorwise, no burn at all at the end, and the most surprising thing is the strong tobacco smell in your mouth lingering for a bit at the end. So different than all the rest and that is the reason why I like it so much.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Smells of vegetal sugarcane, molasses, oak, and bourbon; the taste adds some spiciness. A little too much bourbon for my liking; I'm more of a rum fan.

Posted about 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Finally bought this one, had a soapy like flash of flavor at first. Now the bottle has had a gasp of air, the flavors are woody, warm, and deep. This has a uniqueness like the Zafra, a bold but developed journey of flavor!!!

Posted about 5 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

Never heard about this rum and it's a very good surprise, a mix of strong and sweetness with a long finish.
A must have !

Posted about 6 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

Well! A friend of mine brought a bottle of this (wonderful) rum over to my house, and proceeded to give me yet another addiction to outstanding rums. With the first taste, I found it wasn't as sweet as the Barbados rums, but it had MUCH more character! The flavors(as I understand it) come from the distilling method using a wood pot still, rather than a more modern copper or stainless pot. Whatever, the reason, this is a Must Have in your rum collection-

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Up there with the 1703 in the fact that i would give this a 10 if i hadn't tried the Appleton 50yr. As well as being aged in wood for 15 years, Pusser's are one of only 3 rum producers left that distil the spirit in wooden stills. Much smoother than the original Pusser's with dark demerara and deep spice at first with a rich, raisiny, oaky long, long finish. One of the best rums ive tried, Definitely in my top 5 so far!

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Aged 15 years in the tropics and bottled at (only) 40% ABV.

Big nose. Lots of caramel/molasses, oak, smoke, varnish, anise. The palate is much smaller. It's pretty balanced; a good dessert rum, but not as sweet as I thought it would be. Some chocolate. The sweetness lingers on the finish, which is medium.

For all it's low proof and high sugar, I can't help but really like this one. I could sip it for a long time. And if I ever get a chance I'd love to blend it with something hot, prickly and dry like the Cadenhead's MPM 14. Man, that would be delicious...

8+

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Mouth: Dried fruit, dates, tobacco, and a little caramel. A little spicy but not harsh. The warmth lingers for awhile and allows the caramel notes to resurface later.

Nose: blackstrap molasses.

I would call it a "must", if you're starting to assemble a good rum shelf.

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

It is what a good navy rum should be... woody tones, a little bitter, smoky aroma but smooth and pleasant in the mouth. I doubt the sailors ever accessed such an aged and fine rum, but I could imagine sailing with a bottle of this one :)

Great for rum tasting, to provide a different feel amongst the other rums...

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Never had the regular Pusser before but I am sure it will cross my path one day. This beauty was far mellower than i expected with a warmer more rounded and pleasant after taste than I imagined. Lovely oily vanilla coating on the tongue full of warm sweetness with just the correct amount of alcohol and oak for my taste, wholeheartedly recommended.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I finished my discovery of navy rum Pusser's by 15 years. It is sweeter than others with notes of vanilla, oak and spices. Rounder and soft, it reveals fruity palate with figs and chocolate. Nice rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Took me some time to find a bottle in town but well worth the wait. Very smooth and "clean". I like the blue label but the red label is a grown up version. Lost is the sharp, punch in the face from other Navy rums, replaced with a satisfying drink. Well done sir, well done.

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy
Aroma: Hodně výrazná, sladce kořenitá, až opulentní vůně, připomíná mi perník. Koření, čokoláda, marmeláda. Hřejivý dojem. Včelí plástve, kůže, v druhé vlně pak i něco těžších květinových vůní. (91 b)
Chuť: Sladkost jen mírná (asi tak 1/3), stylově mi trochu připomíná sudy po sherry, ale dle informací výrobce víme jen tolik, že si poležel 15 let v opálených sudech. Suchá těžká kořenitost, závan pendreku, v dochuti pak karamel a připálené rozinky z vánočky. Přes to vše mi přijde zároveň jemný. (87 b)
Body: 89
Shrnutí: Poprvé jsem ochutnal na červnové akci s josém v Hořicích, od té doby jsem přechutnával ještě několikrát. Je to pohodový relaxační rum, vůně je výrazná, chuť poměrně bohatá, ale zároveň si udržuje překvapivou jemnost. S nákupem jsem spokojen.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Excellent rum to say the least. From the nose you get the slap upside the face that it is Pusser's. But this stuff is off the hook for a smooth rum from start to finish. Starts of on the nose with hints of dried fruits, very slightly sweet, finish is of leather tobacco and a hint of vanilla. Great mouth feel and just the right amount of esters. Recommend a cube of ice, let her sit a few and partake. Good stuff! And of course an original tasting rum that only tastes like Pusser's. Update.... Just bought another bottle and............... Yip it gets better by the minute.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 27 gpl. No wonder the British navy was a force to be reckoned with all hands getting a cup of this powerful and heady rum every day. This rum has a great aroma to it. I would title it Museum rum as it has the heady smell of old wood, smoke, and leather in the glass along with burnt sugar. It's a sweet rum with the usual vanilla and some cinnamon and the prevailing oak taste from 15 years in the barrel. Sweet and smooth on your tongue and then it punches your palate and just sits there and burns for quite some time. No bitterness or harshness, just heat and flavour. It's classic old time rum at it's best and this is a must have rum in any collection.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I rated this higher than most reviewers because of the unique quality of this rum that I think works for those that are looking for a great rum that is a bit different. You can taste and smell more of the barrel than with other rums and it gives this brand a woody but also rich - but not harsh - profile. If you are looking for something sightly different with a rich taste, I would highly recommend this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Casper from DK with 9 ratings

The first thing you notice when you pop the cork is the smell. Rich and spicy and with a promice of somthing streng. The taste is rich and strong with a hint of sweetness. It explodes in the mouth with a little burn.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I see all nice comments around this one. I was because of that probably expecting more out of the product. I prefer a little bit less oaky whiskey taste . But I can understand the ones liking it.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

'The single malt of rum". Lives up to the hype. If you like a good woody whisky, you'll love this.