Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (145 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
20
51
43
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

52fee49bde77e0e1895e2802c0fd79a9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

Fruity , a bit sweet but still pleasant rum ......

3789f8929aa452137c38b20a2f0e060c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by christoph kalb from Austria with 6 ratings

Süsse und einzigartige Aromen, Erinnerungen an alte Segeltage.

66a14367f25f3419ca766b5f0873c116.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Anthony Lambert from Germany with 10 ratings

The original Navy Rum aged for 15 years.
One of the best

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 243 ratings

In the style of navy rums, it is a bit high in alcohol, which is balanced by sweetness. Interesting, but not enough deep flavors.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 150 ratings

With a nice bottle, a beautiful label and a fantastic story around “Nelson’s blood” this rum unquestionably defends its place in my rumshelf even if I not have liked it, but I do.
The flavours are very nice and the afterburn is real long. It’s quite sweet but not to sweet. It should have been interesting to taste it in an navy strength level, but still one of my favourites on my shelf.

F5d22e464f570f0b93fe655f4758d2a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by manolomocca from Germany with 7 ratings

In the most positive sense a very strong rum with typical Demerara flavours. Beside a complex spice there is a unique, deep fruitiness. Absolute recommendation, maybe too much for rum beginners, as it has quite its (enjoyable) edges.

0dc4e5382b5187077757cfa6c02a9906.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

This rum is a true masterpiece. Perfect in any points. Price is high and it deserve it. Buy again if I can find other bottles.

51d064bc0a8f56dbe637471fdc432bb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim Griffin from United States with 9 ratings

I Purchased my first bottle of Pusser rum in pussers wharf, Tortola. I found the wrong to be very smooth but have a sharp sent when you first open the bottle. I enjoyed it with a chaser of Coke or chilled on the rocks.

6133272c7c87519e4e3bd69c460febf8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 58 ratings

Correct me if im wrong that wooden pot stills are only found in Guyana DDL, so the info is bit wrong, also im very suspicious that there is only pot still distillate on this rum because it is not heavy enough even though it is only 40%abv
Nose: cola, vanilla, tropical fruit and salty toffee
Taste: The cola taste comes first.
Then comes quite lot of spices, cinnamon and clove most notably, then vanilla and tropical fruit.
The toffee note isn't as overpowering as in Pussers Gunpowder but its still noticeable.
Quite sweet and sugared but not as much as El Dorado 12 (thank god).
Overall quite well balanced.
Finish: Spicy and fistfull of oak, not too much though. Sugary smooth.
Overall: Great "navy" style xo rum that has strong and complex flavours that go on forever.
The added sugar does bother me a bit but not that much because it isnt too sweet where it would start to greatly destroy the profile of the rum (like in el dorado 12 and diplomatico reserva exclusiva)
Additives other than sugar? I dont know, caramel colour probably for consistency, you can never be sure these days.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

A dark and "robust" looking rum. The nose has notes of wood, leather, tobacco, chocolate, marcipan and cherry's. It's nice for sure. The palate starts of with the cherry's, marcipan and chocolate. It's fairly sweet(end). It then roll's on to sweet pipe tobacco and leather, finishing on the rounded wooden note. It's a great flurry of flavours and in a lot of ways a very good rum but unfunately a bit to sweet for my liking, restraining this bottle from a 9 rating.

F346fe6877a9ef682203c1da3bd63faa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Baard from Norway with 6 ratings

You GOT to taste and have this rum
Dette er en rom man bør smake og ha i skapet