Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (151 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
21
54
45
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

151 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

worth the extra $ over blue label. great balanced flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

As a fan of navy rum, I wanted to try the old version. This is a direct comparison between the old Nelson's blood and Pussers 15.

The old Nelson's is not very dark, but also not very intensive and heavy. Almost no molasses there.
I smell candle wax and some fruits, some honey. Because I love Demerara, I like the new one more.

The taste starts with some sweetness but not heavy. Aromas are like in a Haiti rum, more light than heavy. I get sugar cane or sugar syrup, some vanilla and wood, candle wax and musty old nuts. In the middle taste the rum develops some Demerara aromas but not very much.
The finish is not spectacular.

Completely differen rum than the new one. I don't know from wich countries this blend is. I would gues Trinidad, Guyana and Haiti.
It's not a typical Navy blend. I would rate it with 79 points. It's not bad and the rum is gently. But it's not interesting enough. I would prefer the new one.

Nose: candle wax, some rotten fruits, honey and a sour note
Taste: sugar cane, vanilla, some wood, candle wax, musty nuts
Middle: honey, molasses, musty walnuts, some iodine
Finish: spice, medical note, honey
Aftertaste: sugar cane, mint

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Value (89€): 2.5/5

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 4 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 128 ratings

Not as strong as I expected, but the taste is deep and powerfull. Great nose and interesting blend of Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad, Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by PineWood from Belgium with 14 ratings

I would like to love it more because this a complex and nicely done rum, unfortunately it's also very sweet.

Small img 20210101 104439

Posted 5 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Aroma of raisines and caramel. In aroma and taste is similar like single-malt whisky, because you can find in both peat.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 237 ratings

First we have to recognize this bottle style and 15 year blend is no longer available. My rating is for the orange label older version. This rum was nearing perfection in my book. Unfortunately the new blend falls way short. I understand they lost the rights to the Trinidad rum that it was blended with and is now100% Guyana blended.

Back to the old 15 review dark brown full bodied, I believe it was over proof and delicious. If you are lucky enough to get old stock, buy it all.

Funny thing they did the same thing with regular Pusser’s over 25 years ago the original blue label was much better and I boycotted the new blend for 20 years, but find it very appealing again.

Small black

Posted 8 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Tytéž zatuchlé hrozinky v lihu, jako u standardního British Navy, ale zjemnělé a vlastně méně zajímavé. Přes udávaných 40% překvapivě lihovitější než je (nebo bývalo - už jsem ho pár let nepil) 54,5% British Navy. Mělo to být na oslavu, ale bylo to velké zklamání. Hodnocení se vztahuje k nekřesťanské ceně (skoro 1500 Kč), jinak tak 7. Šlo o verzi v nové láhvi (plnění z roku 2018) původem z Guyany; je velmi pravděpodobné, že starší Nelsonkavér býval lepší...
Aby to ověřil, pořídil jsem nakonec aktuální British Navy distribuovanou nyní pod názvem Gunpowder Proof, která je nyní rovněž z Guayny, nikoli z Barbadosu jako dřív. A vskutku - je nesrovnatelně horší než bývala, takže mohu jen litovat, že jsem si Nelsonovu krev nekoupil už před lety...

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

Not a fantastic sipper but nice in a simple mixed drink. Had my bottle for years so has probably changed over time

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by benje from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This is what you imagine Nelsons boys would drink. No wonder they were fearless. The real thing.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Sayede from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Essential sipping rum, heard the new blend and label is terrible . Sweet complex , honey , aroma - smooth burn

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by chriscathcart from Canada with 14 ratings

Or a good girls. Has lots of flavour without being sugary. One of my favorites