Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (148 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
21
53
43
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


148 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

Fruity , a bit sweet but still pleasant rum ......

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Aroma of raisines and caramel. In aroma and taste is similar like single-malt whisky, because you can find in both peat.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 86 ratings

First we have to recognize this bottle style and 15 year blend is no longer available. My rating is for the orange label older version. This rum was nearing perfection in my book. Unfortunately the new blend falls way short. I understand they lost the rights to the Trinidad rum that it was blended with and is now100% Guyana blended.

Back to the old 15 review dark brown full bodied, I believe it was over proof and delicious. If you are lucky enough to get old stock, buy it all.

Funny thing they did the same thing with regular Pusser’s over 25 years ago the original blue label was much better and I boycotted the new blend for 20 years, but find it very appealing again.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Tytéž zatuchlé hrozinky v lihu, jako u standardního British Navy, ale zjemnělé a vlastně méně zajímavé. Přes udávaných 40% překvapivě lihovitější než je (nebo bývalo - už jsem ho pár let nepil) 54,5% British Navy. Mělo to být na oslavu, ale bylo to velké zklamání. Hodnocení se vztahuje k nekřesťanské ceně (skoro 1500 Kč), jinak tak 7. Šlo o verzi v nové láhvi (plnění z roku 2018) původem z Guyany; je velmi pravděpodobné, že starší Nelsonkavér býval lepší...
Aby to ověřil, pořídil jsem nakonec aktuální British Navy distribuovanou nyní pod názvem Gunpowder Proof, která je nyní rovněž z Guayny, nikoli z Barbadosu jako dřív. A vskutku - je nesrovnatelně horší než bývala, takže mohu jen litovat, že jsem si Nelsonovu krev nekoupil už před lety...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Glen from United States with 51 ratings

Not a fantastic sipper but nice in a simple mixed drink. Had my bottle for years so has probably changed over time

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by benje from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This is what you imagine Nelsons boys would drink. No wonder they were fearless. The real thing.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Sayede from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Essential sipping rum, heard the new blend and label is terrible . Sweet complex , honey , aroma - smooth burn

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

Or a good girls. Has lots of flavour without being sugary. One of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 42 ratings

Not my kind of rum.
Sharp alcohol taste with oak, and slightly bitter finish.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Rumdog from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Delicious, wonderful noise and deeply rich flavours.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Robin Wouters from Belgium with 15 ratings

As an unexpirienced rum drinke, the first sips of this rum where a little bit simmilar as a soft whiskey for me. After a couple of sips, it tasted more Like a rum with little hints of sweetness, and Lots of different flavours. I did expected more after all the good comments. But it was still Fine.