Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (151 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
21
54
45
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

151 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

worth the extra $ over blue label. great balanced flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Excellent rum to say the least. From the nose you get the slap upside the face that it is Pusser's. But this stuff is off the hook for a smooth rum from start to finish. Starts of on the nose with hints of dried fruits, very slightly sweet, finish is of leather tobacco and a hint of vanilla. Great mouth feel and just the right amount of esters. Recommend a cube of ice, let her sit a few and partake. Good stuff! And of course an original tasting rum that only tastes like Pusser's. Update.... Just bought another bottle and............... Yip it gets better by the minute.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 27 gpl. No wonder the British navy was a force to be reckoned with all hands getting a cup of this powerful and heady rum every day. This rum has a great aroma to it. I would title it Museum rum as it has the heady smell of old wood, smoke, and leather in the glass along with burnt sugar. It's a sweet rum with the usual vanilla and some cinnamon and the prevailing oak taste from 15 years in the barrel. Sweet and smooth on your tongue and then it punches your palate and just sits there and burns for quite some time. No bitterness or harshness, just heat and flavour. It's classic old time rum at it's best and this is a must have rum in any collection.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I rated this higher than most reviewers because of the unique quality of this rum that I think works for those that are looking for a great rum that is a bit different. You can taste and smell more of the barrel than with other rums and it gives this brand a woody but also rich - but not harsh - profile. If you are looking for something sightly different with a rich taste, I would highly recommend this.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Casper from DK with 9 ratings

The first thing you notice when you pop the cork is the smell. Rich and spicy and with a promice of somthing streng. The taste is rich and strong with a hint of sweetness. It explodes in the mouth with a little burn.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I see all nice comments around this one. I was because of that probably expecting more out of the product. I prefer a little bit less oaky whiskey taste . But I can understand the ones liking it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

'The single malt of rum". Lives up to the hype. If you like a good woody whisky, you'll love this.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 26 ratings

Leaves a nice peppery molasses tasye in the back of the throat.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

When I first smelled this rum I was worried that I would not like the taste. It smells acrid and bitter and almost sappy. I also smell brown sugar as well.

I was surprised by the amazing taste of spice and brown sugar; very smooth.
It does have a woody taste but it is not strong and is balanced with the other flavours
It reminded me of some of the EL Dorado rums I like so much.

I would recommend this to anyone

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

I'm in complete harmony with the analysis of Da'rum from Germany: This rum is sweet with a strong touch of vanilla and a very long woody finish.

I presume that the woody fnish is the reason why some people do not like this rum, mainly people enjoying sweet rums. I must admit that I've hesitated between 8 and 9 ... Compared to its equivalent 15 years El Dorado Special Reserve for example, I find this rum a bit less complex and fruity.

My ideal rating would have been an 8.5 because it is superior to the Clement Vieux 6 yo agricole rum (rated 8) with which I discovered the world of aged rums.

I completely agree with the advice of Scott T considering the rating of Verner Canatsey: This should never have been so much underrated. My biigest disappointment with an extra old rum was about the Diplomatico Reserva rum (6 yo, rated 6) which is definitely very dry, slightly astringent, very tannic with notes of spices, predominantly pepper ... Verner, never try this one ^^!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Yatoss from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

A much smoother version of Pussers rum, very warming and moreish.