Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (145 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
20
51
43
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

52fee49bde77e0e1895e2802c0fd79a9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

Fruity , a bit sweet but still pleasant rum ......

2a6e206ea8029f2e08e56101c107573e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I rated this higher than most reviewers because of the unique quality of this rum that I think works for those that are looking for a great rum that is a bit different. You can taste and smell more of the barrel than with other rums and it gives this brand a woody but also rich - but not harsh - profile. If you are looking for something sightly different with a rich taste, I would highly recommend this.

84d6bce22554085621b3b9338de11c58.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Casper from DK with 9 ratings

The first thing you notice when you pop the cork is the smell. Rich and spicy and with a promice of somthing streng. The taste is rich and strong with a hint of sweetness. It explodes in the mouth with a little burn.

2cfa456c0ac2666124f76da5376a6a26.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I see all nice comments around this one. I was because of that probably expecting more out of the product. I prefer a little bit less oaky whiskey taste . But I can understand the ones liking it.

96c3685d0d6cefac4b18c278c4b5b975.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

'The single malt of rum". Lives up to the hype. If you like a good woody whisky, you'll love this.

C5793e368fd7a69aece0db5b1fb490d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

Leaves a nice peppery molasses tasye in the back of the throat.

59730dd309c95ecc01a51c37e4d481b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

When I first smelled this rum I was worried that I would not like the taste. It smells acrid and bitter and almost sappy. I also smell brown sugar as well.

I was surprised by the amazing taste of spice and brown sugar; very smooth.
It does have a woody taste but it is not strong and is balanced with the other flavours
It reminded me of some of the EL Dorado rums I like so much.

I would recommend this to anyone

9160dcd0f6b726069af0eb03cddb4757.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

I'm in complete harmony with the analysis of Da'rum from Germany: This rum is sweet with a strong touch of vanilla and a very long woody finish.

I presume that the woody fnish is the reason why some people do not like this rum, mainly people enjoying sweet rums. I must admit that I've hesitated between 8 and 9 ... Compared to its equivalent 15 years El Dorado Special Reserve for example, I find this rum a bit less complex and fruity.

My ideal rating would have been an 8.5 because it is superior to the Clement Vieux 6 yo agricole rum (rated 8) with which I discovered the world of aged rums.

I completely agree with the advice of Scott T considering the rating of Verner Canatsey: This should never have been so much underrated. My biigest disappointment with an extra old rum was about the Diplomatico Reserva rum (6 yo, rated 6) which is definitely very dry, slightly astringent, very tannic with notes of spices, predominantly pepper ... Verner, never try this one ^^!

B36b0679ded69d470417862a473968e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 73 ratings

First we have to recognize this bottle style and 15 year blend is no longer available. My rating is for the orange label older version. This rum was nearing perfection in my book. Unfortunately the new blend falls way short. I understand they lost the rights to the Trinidad rum that it was blended with and is now100% Guyana blended.

Back to the old 15 review dark brown full bodied, I believe it was over proof and delicious. If you are lucky enough to get old stock, buy it all.

Funny thing they did the same thing with regular Pusser’s over 25 years ago the original blue label was much better and I boycotted the new blend for 20 years, but find it very appealing again.

54588708f8c654a7b13e96facaa6b175.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Tytéž zatuchlé hrozinky v lihu, jako u standardního British Navy, ale zjemnělé a vlastně méně zajímavé. Přes udávaných 40% překvapivě lihovitější než je (nebo bývalo - už jsem ho pár let nepil) 54,5% British Navy. Mělo to být na oslavu, ale bylo to velké zklamání. Hodnocení se vztahuje k nekřesťanské ceně (skoro 1500 Kč), jinak tak 7. Šlo o verzi v nové láhvi (plnění z roku 2018) původem z Guyany; je velmi pravděpodobné, že starší Nelsonkavér býval lepší...
Aby to ověřil, pořídil jsem nakonec aktuální British Navy distribuovanou nyní pod názvem Gunpowder Proof, která je nyní rovněž z Guayny, nikoli z Barbadosu jako dřív. A vskutku - je nesrovnatelně horší než bývala, takže mohu jen litovat, že jsem si Nelsonovu krev nekoupil už před lety...

F85c7ff2693845c9da5f90f1aa46f3cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Glen from United States with 51 ratings

Not a fantastic sipper but nice in a simple mixed drink. Had my bottle for years so has probably changed over time