Posting your rating...
Pusser's British Navy 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10 (148 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
21
53
43
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


148 Pusser's British Navy 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chrisbati from Belgium with 16 ratings

Never heard about this rum and it's a very good surprise, a mix of strong and sweetness with a long finish.
A must have !

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Aged 15 years in the tropics and bottled at (only) 40% ABV.

Big nose. Lots of caramel/molasses, oak, smoke, varnish, anise. The palate is much smaller. It's pretty balanced; a good dessert rum, but not as sweet as I thought it would be. Some chocolate. The sweetness lingers on the finish, which is medium.

For all it's low proof and high sugar, I can't help but really like this one. I could sip it for a long time. And if I ever get a chance I'd love to blend it with something hot, prickly and dry like the Cadenhead's MPM 14. Man, that would be delicious...

8+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 159 ratings

With a nice bottle, a beautiful label and a fantastic story around “Nelson’s blood” this rum unquestionably defends its place in my rumshelf even if I not have liked it, but I do.
The flavours are very nice and the afterburn is real long. It’s quite sweet but not to sweet. It should have been interesting to taste it in an navy strength level, but still one of my favourites on my shelf.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Over 2,000 aged rums enjoyed over the past 15 years and Pusser's 15 year old rum is still strong on my Top 15 list. Very smooth aged rum, plenty going on flavorwise, no burn at all at the end, and the most surprising thing is the strong tobacco smell in your mouth lingering for a bit at the end. So different than all the rest and that is the reason why I like it so much.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Mouth: Dried fruit, dates, tobacco, and a little caramel. A little spicy but not harsh. The warmth lingers for awhile and allows the caramel notes to resurface later.

Nose: blackstrap molasses.

I would call it a "must", if you're starting to assemble a good rum shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

It is what a good navy rum should be... woody tones, a little bitter, smoky aroma but smooth and pleasant in the mouth. I doubt the sailors ever accessed such an aged and fine rum, but I could imagine sailing with a bottle of this one :)

Great for rum tasting, to provide a different feel amongst the other rums...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Never had the regular Pusser before but I am sure it will cross my path one day. This beauty was far mellower than i expected with a warmer more rounded and pleasant after taste than I imagined. Lovely oily vanilla coating on the tongue full of warm sweetness with just the correct amount of alcohol and oak for my taste, wholeheartedly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I finished my discovery of navy rum Pusser's by 15 years. It is sweeter than others with notes of vanilla, oak and spices. Rounder and soft, it reveals fruity palate with figs and chocolate. Nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Took me some time to find a bottle in town but well worth the wait. Very smooth and "clean". I like the blue label but the red label is a grown up version. Lost is the sharp, punch in the face from other Navy rums, replaced with a satisfying drink. Well done sir, well done.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy
Aroma: Hodně výrazná, sladce kořenitá, až opulentní vůně, připomíná mi perník. Koření, čokoláda, marmeláda. Hřejivý dojem. Včelí plástve, kůže, v druhé vlně pak i něco těžších květinových vůní. (91 b)
Chuť: Sladkost jen mírná (asi tak 1/3), stylově mi trochu připomíná sudy po sherry, ale dle informací výrobce víme jen tolik, že si poležel 15 let v opálených sudech. Suchá těžká kořenitost, závan pendreku, v dochuti pak karamel a připálené rozinky z vánočky. Přes to vše mi přijde zároveň jemný. (87 b)
Body: 89
Shrnutí: Poprvé jsem ochutnal na červnové akci s josém v Hořicích, od té doby jsem přechutnával ještě několikrát. Je to pohodový relaxační rum, vůně je výrazná, chuť poměrně bohatá, ale zároveň si udržuje překvapivou jemnost. S nákupem jsem spokojen.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Excellent rum to say the least. From the nose you get the slap upside the face that it is Pusser's. But this stuff is off the hook for a smooth rum from start to finish. Starts of on the nose with hints of dried fruits, very slightly sweet, finish is of leather tobacco and a hint of vanilla. Great mouth feel and just the right amount of esters. Recommend a cube of ice, let her sit a few and partake. Good stuff! And of course an original tasting rum that only tastes like Pusser's. Update.... Just bought another bottle and............... Yip it gets better by the minute.