Posting your rating...
Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year rum

Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

6.1/10(51 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
8
20
11
8

Rate Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

51 Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 72 ratings

Nothing special here. Lacks deep character and robust flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 88 ratings

But not go dringing straight.
The smell is Bacardi like, mainstream.
Light burn and not many flavors.
And not a long lasting aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Andrew Lantz from Canada with 14 ratings

This is a fairly middle of the ground rum. Nothing about it is overly offensive, but nothing stands out either.

As a mixer, it’s very good. I don’t find it overly sweet, and the hint of rum is a nice addition.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mr Coone from Belgium with 10 ratings

Opened the bottle 20-30 min before tasting

Light intense copper-golden colour with a big water edge.
Light intense in the nose with aroma's of smoke, spices and some caramel.

Soft start on the palate with aroma's of oloroso sherry, wood, spices and some whiskey-hints.
Long finish

The aroma's are not my personal favour, but this is absolutely a very good distillate. Nicely balanced and good length.
Score: 81/100

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mmredsox85 from United States with 3 ratings

Caveat: This is my first review of a rum I have seen from some reviews might be a good, standalone sipper. I am a newbie to the rum review world so have limited experiences to compare to.
- Appearance: A dark, inviting amber
- Nose: A nicely subtle sweet, caramel and vanilla note
- Palate: It comes across immediately with the sweet caramel and vanilla flavor the nose promised prevailing. With coaxing, there is a very, very, slight hint of smoke and the tiniest alcohol bite. The finish is nice.
- Overall: I like the sweetness in this offering. It makes for a pretty smooth, easy going sipper on a quiet evening after a good meal. Sweet, warming and enjoyable. Better than the affordable price might indicate, IMHO.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 293 ratings

This rum ist very good for the price of 23€. This is a gift from Don Facundo to the world.
It reminds me of bacardi special in the distillery.
The nose is great, there are some heavy metal aromas.
The taste is also very good, it has some aromas from a younger rum (like bacardi blanco).
It's not as balanced as the Diez (10y), but I like the more intensive molasses taste.

Since 1862 Bacardi uses the La Levadura Bacardi – the oldest cultured Cuban yeast strain. Facundo found it growing in the sugarcane fields outside Santiago de Cuba.
Ocho is still made to the old recipe.
Bacardi utilizes a parallel distillation process using column distillation, and the fermented mixture is actually distilled twice. The first liquor is stronger in flavor and the second is light. After 8 years both of them are blended.

Smell: Molasses (typical Bacardi, coffee, salt), apple, caramel, some heavy aromas like (gum, stainless steel), vanilla
Taste initial: molasses, vanilla, caramel
Middle: white oak, vanilla, stainless steel and dark fruit (plum)
Finish: wood, spice, light bitterness, liquorice
Aftertaste: firmint

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

I gave bacardi last chance to imprese me with the good rum. Disapointing again. Typicall for bacardi taste - caramel sweetness and alchohol aftertaste . Nose - "grassy"-like with the alchohol background. Nothing more. Where does it spent his 8 years?
I tasted all the main lineup of Bacardi rums, and i must say that Bacardi cannot make a taste, good rum, only cheap mass product for getting drunk. For me Bacardi dead as a rum producer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by rumdumb from Canada with 8 ratings

I haven't had Bacardi in about 25 years...maybe this needs to age another 25 years. Thought I would try this one, but disappointed. Opened the bottle to the smell of alcohol and a similar after-taste. As a mixer it's passable after two drinks. I won't dump it out, but thought about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 48 ratings

Light and easy to drink.
Not sweet.... good flavors, but, the distillate is not very refined.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Haberer from Austria with 20 ratings

not great, not bad. not very special though, lacks character. a well engineered rum thats tho perfect or better to say made with the aim to be liked by the common denominator.. like all mass produced liquors - use it as a mixer

Small img 4861

Posted 6 days ago by Bonandy from Poland with 33 ratings

Without emotions. Quite spicy in taste, not very aromatic. A little bit sweet. It motivates me to test other Bacardi rums.