Posting your rating...
Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year rum

Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year

Puerto Rico | Aged

6.1/10 (36 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
15
9
5

Rate Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


36 Bacardi Reserva Ocho 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 212 ratings

This rum ist very good for the price of 23€. This is a gift from Don Facundo to the world.
It reminds me of bacardi special in the distillery.
The nose is great, there are some heavy metal aromas.
The taste is also very good, it has some aromas from a younger rum (like bacardi blanco).
It's not as balanced as the Diez (10y), but I like the more intensive molasses taste.

Since 1862 Bacardi uses the La Levadura Bacardi – the oldest cultured Cuban yeast strain. Facundo found it growing in the sugarcane fields outside Santiago de Cuba.
Ocho is still made to the old recipe.
Bacardi utilizes a parallel distillation process using column distillation, and the fermented mixture is actually distilled twice. The first liquor is stronger in flavor and the second is light. After 8 years both of them are blended.

Smell: Molasses (typical Bacardi, coffee, salt), apple, caramel, some heavy aromas like (gum, stainless steel), vanilla
Taste initial: molasses, vanilla, caramel
Middle: white oak, vanilla, stainless steel and dark fruit (plum)
Finish: wood, spice, light bitterness, liquorice
Aftertaste: firmint

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 86 ratings

But not go dringing straight.
The smell is Bacardi like, mainstream.
Light burn and not many flavors.
And not a long lasting aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

I gave bacardi last chance to imprese me with the good rum. Disapointing again. Typicall for bacardi taste - caramel sweetness and alchohol aftertaste . Nose - "grassy"-like with the alchohol background. Nothing more. Where does it spent his 8 years?
I tasted all the main lineup of Bacardi rums, and i must say that Bacardi cannot make a taste, good rum, only cheap mass product for getting drunk. For me Bacardi dead as a rum producer.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by rumdumb from Canada with 8 ratings

I haven't had Bacardi in about 25 years...maybe this needs to age another 25 years. Thought I would try this one, but disappointed. Opened the bottle to the smell of alcohol and a similar after-taste. As a mixer it's passable after two drinks. I won't dump it out, but thought about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

Light and easy to drink.
Not sweet.... good flavors, but, the distillate is not very refined.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 5 ratings

The standard for cheaper midrange runs. Sweet enough with a little spice. Just a good all around sipper with a rock.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 26 ratings

Tastes like rubber and nail polish. I had it in Poland because I couldnt find a decent bottle of rum and have heard it spoken of highly in professional circles. Over there it performed pretty well in drinks, but sipping it neat next to Appleton (which I don't even particularly like) it tasted like chewing on a garden hose on a hot summer day. By god is it bad. But honestly I don't know what I was expecting from Bacardi, makers of some of the worst rum on the planet.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 30 ratings

It's a very smooth rum and goes well with your favorite mix.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by rišo from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Cena je tradične vyššia ako hodnota. Pri Bacardi nič nezvyčajné.. Dobrý na cuba libre

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 195 ratings

This was my go too rum for years nice on the rocks excellent with coke. Hard to give it a lower rating above average for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mark Halse from Australia with 20 ratings

Tried this in Asia, Dark & Story's in KL. Seemed pretty nice at the time, but holidays always make things better.