Posting your rating...
Domaine de Severin VO rum
Domaine de Severin VO rum

Domaine de Severin VO

Guadeloupe | Agricole

4.9/10 (16 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
1
2
2
2

Rate Domaine de Severin VO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Domaine de Severin VO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 352 ratings

Schönes Honiggelb im Glas.
In der Nase fruchtig "süss" nach Zuckerrohr und frisch gepflückten Blumen. Im Hintergrund erkennt man die leicht rauchige Nuance die beim XO schon ausgeprägter ist.
Im Gaumen mit seinen jungen 3 Jahren schon sehr zahm und die Aromen beginnen sich zu entwickeln. Weisse Früchte liegen auf einer Wiese, ein Vanille Pudding schwabbelt, kleine Karamell und Schoko Krümel fliegen durch die Luft.
Im Abgang kommen zum ersten mal das Holz zum Zug begleitet von Früchten und Vanille.
Ein toller Agricole für einen heissen Sommerabend zum pur geniessen oder einen 'Ti punch.
Nichts für Liebhaber von Süss Rum, nur für Agricole Freunde zu empfehlen.

Beautiful honey yellow in the glass.
In the nose fruity "sweet" of sugar cane and freshly picked flowers. In the background you can recognize the slightly smoky nuance which is more pronounced in the XO.
In the palate with its young 3 years already very tame and the aromas begin to develop. White fruits lie on a meadow, a vanilla pudding wobbles, small caramel and chocolate crumbs fly through the air.
In the aftertaste the wood comes into its own for the first time, accompanied by fruits and vanilla.
A great Agricole for a hot summer evening to enjoy pure or a 'Ti punch.
Nothing for lovers of sweet rum, only recommended for Agricole friends.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

A lot of bad ratings for this rum and I suspect that it’s largely because it was part of the 1423 Christmas calender 2018, and most people buyign the calender is perhaps not used to drinking agricole. This is actually a nice rum if your into the style.
A light golden color with a nose offering notes of passionfruit, raspberry and slightly burnt rubber, meant in the best possible way.
The taste is full bodied and slightly accidic with fruity notes leaning towards ripe pears and a subtle hint of rubber and grass. The aftertaste is long and mellow. Good value in my book.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I love myself some agricole rum and after having tried the XO from the same producer, I was exited to try their VO. Let it be said, that if they release an O-edition, then I will not be in line to try it.

Nose: Very funky smell with notes of overripe bananas, lime zest and wood
Taste: Mango, peaches and lime zest. The aftertaste is long, but somewhat foul.
Overall: This is not the rum to convince your friends, why agricole rum is worth trying. It has some potential, but it is not a rum, that I need to try again anytime soon.

25f6bf9e901fc0c462ab5dffa7011128.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Neco takhle odpornyho jsem dlouho nepil. Vune je neco mezi bourbonem a domaci samohonkou palenou z plesnivych hadru. Po sebrani odvahy jsem i ochutnal. Chut je neco mezi okenou a prumyslovym odmastovadlem. Zajimalo by me, kdo neco takoveho vybral do kalendare.

9486d4bc39c70711669409dfbe5a8166.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Nudo1985 from Norway with 6 ratings

This is a flavorful agricole, and i think the assessment of the 8 labeled "misunderstood gives a fair frame of reference for taste and the like for someone who favors agricole rum. So view my rating as quite favorable as the gasoline and whiskey vibes is not for me personally,

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

Disagreement with S. From 24 rums calendar. S would give 4, I would give 6+. I have now tasted few of those kinds - “whiskey rums” and although I don’t have a taste for whiskey, I am starting to enjoy the unique characteristics of it. It is strongly smokey, rubber, burnt match, tar like taste. But also a bit fruity if you can get through the first part. Tastes like older rums and in its own whiskey rum category definitely not a bad one.

94b964e08d67b06d827b5d8dd01fde75.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

En sterk røyklukt med snev av blomster. I smaken domineres den av røyk med et snev av pepper.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

Visited Guadeloupe over the Holidays and truly enjoyed a great distillery tour at Domaine de Severin. Bought a bottle of VO from the distillery since they had a very limited tasting bar. Nice and sturdy bottle and label design. Surprisingly dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with grass, citrus, floral notes and plenty of oak to your nose and palate. Strong burn at the end being so dry. Rhum Agricole lovers can easily add 2 points to my score.

6663f830abe09a166ad858f76f33fa33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kru from Denmark with 8 ratings

Very nice nose with a lot going on. Taste is not as great as the nose promises, but still very interesting. It has been in ex-bourbon cask and has a lot of smokyness to it. So all in all a very different style rum, which I always appreciate in a tasting :)

9be444d92ca878d5bb44f85b266100fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by christophe from Belgium with 8 ratings

The nose is interresting with banana and lime (zest). There is this thing that you know but you cannot identify.
The taste is not like a rumthat I use to taste, its agricole and I don't really like it. Maybe too young to enjoy such fun.
There is something in the after taste that stays with you a long moment. I would it 1 point for that.
I cannot give more than 4 for now

4be253d45d9416576db896f9813d14ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Very nice smoky rum, soft and balanced, long aftertaste.