Posting your rating...
Don Q Vermouth Cask rum

Don Q Vermouth Cask

Puerto Rico | Aged

6.9/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
6
2
1

Rate Don Q Vermouth Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Don Q Vermouth Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

$50 - Was purchased at the Duty Free Shop in San Juan Airport. Nice dark amber color. Pleasant nose with a hint of sweetness. Upon tasting, the flavor is not harsh and rather smooth. Quite smooth with a very nice finish.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Rotem oren from Israel with 11 ratings

You will immediately smell vermouth.
the taste is complex and evolving, every time i sip from this bottle it's a new experience.
The finish is somehow fruity and long.
And the best is with a little bit of demerara syrup and a lemon peel. it makes the best "Bombo" EVER.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Add a little sugar and orange peel, no bitters required. Spicy, sweet, tingly, interesting.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 401 ratings

When I first saw this one on the shelves months ago with the green print for Vermouth Cask Finish, it reminded me of the days when I was young and stupid and tried getting drunk on a bottle of dry vermouth. Being only 18 at the time, I had absolutely no idea that it is no longer officially a wine and is used as a mixer for Manhattans and Martinis. In my more than 50 years of drinking, I have never heard anyone order a Manhattan down here in the south where I live. On the other hand, Martinis seem to rum amok and I have always thought of them as disgusting drinks.

So I had to read up on this rum to get the courage to buy it. I will quote exactly from the label on the back of the bottle. "Aged in Puerto Rico for 5 to 8 years in American white oak barrels, this rare blend of rums is then finished for 4 to 6 weeks in 600 liter Mancino Vecchio vermouth Italian oak casks crafted in Canelli-Asti, Italy". After researching that vermouth, it is the color of a fine tawny port to create a sweet vermouth. A bottle of this vermouth sells for almost $200 US (and it must be refrigerated after opening!). It looks like Don Q really took the chance with this one after careful research and I would say that it paid off.

The aroma is of a fine sweet vermouth with no ethanol vapors. The taste is the same and one can barely tell that it is rum. So far, this would rate as an 8 by me, but the very slightly bitter after taste drops it down to a high 7. For those looking for a rum that is different from all the rest, give this one a try at only $45 US. Adding a few small ice cubes to this one in the snifter does not bring the rum flavors out, but only serves to subdue some of the vermouth flavors. My guess is that they should have only used two weeks in the final finishing in vermouth casks instead of 4 to 6 weeks. This lesser finish would also have allowed the rum flavors to reveal themselves.

Update May 8, 2019: I just cannot get over the vermouth dominating this rum and have no other choice except to drop my rating from a 7 to a 6. No matter what one does to this spirit, rum never reveals itself. Can't sip it neat. On the rocks is just okay. I could never guess what to mix it with. Adding a few squirts of lime juice only makes it worse, so try going with a sweeter rum such as a spiced one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by dml247 from United States with 5 ratings

Good sipper. Seems kinda light. Only 80 proof, but seems hotter.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

I admit, I’m not a Don Q fan but this is an interesting bottle that finds a place at my bar. The Vermouth finish is mildly pronounced even without it on the label. Very smooth nice addition to our tasting last night. Will try as a rum Negroni, or martini next time.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

- vůně hutnější, přesto jemná, nasládlost, čokoládová, třešně, ořechy, dub, skořice, anýz
- chuť jemná nasládlost, med, čokoláda, vanilka, třešně, muškátový oříšek, skořice
zraje v americkém bílém dubu, finiš 4 - 6 týdnů v 600l sudech po italském vermutu, nedoslazovaný, asi 4g získává ze sudů

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 4 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 7/10
smell - 7/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 6.5/10

Small dreamstime xxl 13822080

Posted 5 months ago by Evadovec (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Good pleasant smell. Better avarage taste with strong finish.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by RumBeerQuests&Mead from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Dark golden, burnt caramel nose, muscovado, burnt sugar, cinder toffee

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 439 ratings

Already in aroma you can smell the Vermouth. Taste is smooth and again full of vermouth. Aftertaste is longer bittersweet. Interesting experiment but for me too much vermuth, covering almost everything else.