Posting your rating...
Foursquare Destino rum

Foursquare Destino

Barbados | Aged

9.4/10 (10 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8

Rate Foursquare Destino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


10 Foursquare Destino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

A good friend of mine went to Milan, Italy and asked if he could bring something back for me. I noticed there was a store in Milan that carried the Foursquare Destino rum, so I asked him to bring me a bottle. He did, and here is my review.

As I say in my profile, "I tend to prefer aged rums on the sweeter side" and "I'm generally not a big fan of bourbon/whisky barrel aging". This rum is not sweet, and it has a considerable amount of Madeira/Bourbon aging.

I started by tasting this alongside the Foursquare Criterion, which I rated a 7 (I'm not a huge fan of that). I prefer the Criterion, as it wasn't quite as overpowered by other spirits.

Smells and tastes very dry, with Madeira, bourbon, oak, and spice.

It's not that this rum is too strong - I LOVE the Ron Esclavo XO Cask at 65%abv, along with the Tres Hombres Captain's Choice. But this is just too dry for my palette, and has too much Madeira and Bourbon added in that mask the rum goodness (in my humble opinion).

I realize some people really like that, but it's just not my style.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Foursquare Rum Distillery Foursquare Destino Single Blended Rum. Distilled 2003, released 2017. Aged 14 years in the tropics. Double maturation: 12 years madeira (2 barrels) followed by 2 years bourbon. Bottled at 61% ABV (barrel proof). And you get all that just from the front label :)

This rum was named for the "destiny" of Richard Seale and Luca Gargano collaborating together. There are/were over 5,000 bottles total, including the special 70th anniversary and US editions (forthcoming, as of this writing), but I don't believe it will ever be in my budget :(

I got crap tasting notes: "Oh, just lovely :) big oak, big fruit." There was a lot going on, and I was trying to absorb what Mr. Seale was saying during the tasting. But it certainly was one of the best rums I've ever had. I just LOVE the madeira cask-aged rums from Foursquare :)

For better tasting notes and even more background, read Wes' take here: http://thefatrumpirate.com/foursquare-rum-distillery-destino-velier-70th-anniversary-release

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Excellent rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a rare Foursquare Destino. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Blacked out bottle. Bright golden color. Surprisingly boozy and very fruity to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Plenty of woodiness and a strong burn at the end. Destino is aged only 14y (12y in Madeira Casks plus another 2y in Bourbon Casks) so no wonder the lack of depth with this rare rum.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 21 days ago by Tomy from Romania with 419 ratings

A really great rum. Amazing. Plenty of woodiness and a strong burn at the end. Sublime

75480129464dbf2fb8bb7702340611a5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 53 ratings

Got a sample of this from the whisky exchange and it is amazing. A nose full of chocolate, raspberry, plum, cookie dough, caramel, floral, coffee, vanilla, and burnt pineapple. A rich and creamy palate of toffee, molasses, raspberries, coconut, and pepper. A long spicy finish of chocolate, raspberries, bananas, and coconut.

535a8966b5071bfe8443074d22889836.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 258 ratings

Full aroma but not somehow special. First surprise and smile on your face will come after first taste...
Smooth, "sweet" and full body. Nice peach and honey tones perfectly combined with dryer higher alcohol base. Long aftertaste is helping you to enjoy your rumorgasm 😍 Only one minus point I can find is higher price and bad availability

Cb4048b8ddeae2744e5bbe02603d6479.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Rarer than unicorn poop, but if you're ever lucky enough to taste some, let alone own a bottle - this is the absolute pinnacle of modern rum making.
Aged 12 years in Madeira casks, then a further 2 in old rum casks, the range of flavours that hits you, from the nose to the finish is simply divine.

Despite the weighty 61% it's as smooth as it is delicious.

Perfection in a bottle

7380e70a3b2c33c98bf859ffcb92389f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Im direkten Vergleich mit dem schon sehr guten2006 sowie Principia und Tryptich lässt dieser Wahnsinnstropfen Alles meilenweit im Regen stehen. Hier hat Luca mal wieder sein bestes Händchen gehabt,er ist so gut dass man hier 12 Punkte vergeben könnte.Trotz über 60% angenehm zu trinken.die alkoholische Schärfe kommt im ersten Moment als Süsse Shot rüber -genial und dann die absolute Aromenbombe,im direkten Vergleich mit einem Velier Diamond 99,den neuen El Dorado rare Collection Abfüllungen Skeldon und Albion welche an sich auch schon der totale Wahnsinn sind, hebt der Destino für mich zumindest noch mal darüber ab.
Nicht umsonst sind jetzt kurz nach Ausgabe selbst in Ebay kaum welche zu kriegen und wenn dann fast der doppelte Ausgabepreis,aber der Rum ist wirklich sein Geld wert.
Solch ein Rum kommt wirklich nicht alle Tage.

91db44626ab46cc88f0019ac3933cfd1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

no comment - taste it and you will never stop looking for it

D74459f13a505573ed7ab116052bf231.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Kind of a unicorn, amazing bottle of rum by Foursquare