Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate 8-Year rum

Hampden Estate 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.5/10
68 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
2
7
10
25
16
3

Rate Hampden Estate 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

68 Hampden Estate 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

At first the nose is ... awful. Like a chemical product in the painting industry ...
If you dare taste it, now it is different. You understand how particular rums can be according to the culture and style. This is form Jamaica. Wooden, dry, not round or sweet. More aggressive and energizing. Not my style but add 2 if it is yours !

Small 20210106 185826

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

Although not my favourite, this is real quality stuff. Unsweetened, uncoloured, single pot-stilled rum. All ingredients declared, the standard Luca Gargano and Richard Seale are trying to get the industry to aspire to.
Great chunky bottle, neat lable, but plastic stopper.
Gold colour.
Nose very funky, in keeping with the esters declared on the label. Gluey, acetone entry, fading into dried bananas.

In the mouth it's a beast, punching above its 46%. Alcohol and other volatiles kick your palate, there is a long spiritey finish, but a shortage of dried fruit and wood.
Bone dry, sweetness 1/5.

In the throat there is a burn that goes up your nose and follows down into your gullet.

This is not a subtle rum. It'll make you sit up and take notice of what is the craft of double retort pot stills. The complete opposite of Zacapa / El Dorado / Diplomatico.
I'm not sure whether I'd buy it again, but I loved the experience of unusual, but serious quality.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumdog from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Seems much stronger than the 46%, gets better with time. Big bold flavours, beautiful nose and tastes.

Small download

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 264 ratings

Tastes sort of like a blend between agricole (grassy tones) and whisky. It has quite a bite as well, at least it does not have weird chemical flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ponge from Belgium with 11 ratings

The taste took some getting used to. As a relatively new rum enthousiast it felt stronger then 46%. Will have to try it again.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

If you really want to dive into what Jamaican rum is all about then this is great example. Granted, you might not want to start with this one since it's very funky but once you develop your taste buds you can't go wrong with this one.

On the nose you get some nuts and cinnamon as well as some hints of bananas. The first taste hits you get some more cinnamon but also pineapple and strong funk.

It has taken me awhile to appreciate Jamaican rum but I love it now and I love this rum!

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 218 ratings

Have had this bottle for a while on my Jamaican shelf.
This rum, together with its overproof brother, marking an historic moment for all rum enthusiasts loving the funky 100% pot still rum from Jamaica.
It’s complex, dry and intense. I think it’s hard to recognize the flavors cause it’s mostly nuances and notes, but I believe I detected vanilla, ginger, fruits and spicy nuances and some smokiness.
Picture: My Jamaican shelf & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Very smooth and ice taste. Notes of fresh grass and sugar cane juice. Finish medium to long. Not too dry. 100% pot still, no added sugar or color, as all rum should be.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 47 ratings

Foul. Soap suds and lavender. Don’t even know if there was any burn because all I could taste was soap.

Might as well be whiskey.

Rancid.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Enjoyed 2 glasses of Hampden Estate Pure Single Jamaican 8y old Rum while in London. Pretty decent bottle and label design, unique for sure. Light amber color indicating very little added ingredients. Jamaican funkiness hits you right in the face with plenty of rubber and glue mixed with floral notes and grass. Quite a strong burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Rum squisito come pochi altri. Giamaicano allo stato puro, una perla per pochi, fortunatamente non per tutti.