Posting your rating...
Hampden Estate 8-Year rum

Hampden Estate 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.3/10 (45 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
2
4
6
14
12
2

Rate Hampden Estate 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Hampden Estate 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Got my hands on the standard range of Hampden. I prefer the more explosive high ester stuff because of the pineaple flavor.
This one gives you an idea of ​​what Hampden is but it keeps its high ester secret.
You get some esters there is no question about that. What you also get is the malt in the finish, it's sometimes missing in the DOKs because of the overhelmed pineapple flavor.
It's spicy like all Hampdens and the citrus is a bit out of balance.
It's still a good Hampden and there is no problem with the supply.

I would rate it higher, but it should be a little bit stronger and I would prefer more ester, it's not fruity enough for me, I'm missing the pineapple.
I think the overproof version is better. It's not funky enough to be a great Hampden, but it's easy to sip.

Smell: light sweetness, some vanilla, fermented citrus and tropical fruits, grapes, ester, some caramel
Taste: vanilla, pear, spice, ester, citrus, some bitterness (wood)
Finish: middle long, dry, spicy with citrus, pear, malt

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Intensity: 3.5/5
Value (50€): 2.5/5

Experiment: I added 1/4 of Kill Devil H Hampden. The blend became much more frutier, the pinapple from Kill Devil just exploaded. I wonder why they have't added just a hint of high ester Hampden to the blend.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Rumdog from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Seems much stronger than the 46%, gets better with time. Big bold flavours, beautiful nose and tastes.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Very smooth and ice taste. Notes of fresh grass and sugar cane juice. Finish medium to long. Not too dry. 100% pot still, no added sugar or color, as all rum should be.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

Although not my favourite, this is real quality stuff. Unsweetened, uncoloured, single pot-stilled rum. All ingredients declared, the standard Luca Gargano and Richard Seale are trying to get the industry to aspire to.
Great chunky bottle, neat lable, but plastic stopper.
Gold colour.
Nose very funky, in keeping with the esters declared on the label. Gluey, acetone entry, fading into dried bananas.

In the mouth it's a beast, punching above its 46%. Alcohol and other volatiles kick your palate, there is a long spiritey finish, but a shortage of dried fruit and wood.
Bone dry, sweetness 1/5.

In the throat there is a burn that goes up your nose and follows down into your gullet.

This is not a subtle rum. It'll make you sit up and take notice of what is the craft of double retort pot stills. The complete opposite of Zacapa / El Dorado / Diplomatico.
I'm not sure whether I'd buy it again, but I loved the experience of unusual, but serious quality.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Tastes sort of like a blend between agricole (grassy tones) and whisky. It has quite a bite as well, at least it does not have weird chemical flavor.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Rum squisito come pochi altri. Giamaicano allo stato puro, una perla per pochi, fortunatamente non per tutti.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by True2Rum from United States with 22 ratings

92 proof Jamaican, not too hogo

I don't find this to be too funky on the palate, rather pleasant in a perfected cocktail:
Try libation to test it:

JUNGLE BIRD (23% ABV before shaking)
2½ Hampden pot still (Jamaica 92 proof)
¾ Campari (Italy 48 proof)
1½ pineapple juice (Dole can NFC)
½ lime juice (fresh)
½ demerara syrup 1:1

Let me know it u like

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by rennerg from United States with 22 ratings

Just as good as the overproof, just less proof. .

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 146 ratings

Day 3 with this in my liquor cabinet. I reached for a Rum Malecon 15 and it actually made me ANGRY that this is in my cabinet! This stuff sucks! I have sure had much better Jamaican rum! This is very reminiscent of subpar agricole. Earthy, funky and unbalanced. Sorry, this just doesn’t work for me. As a novelty ok but it just doesn’t have the taste. No body. No finish. No sir. I don’t like it and I won’t be coerced by “uniqueness” that tastes bad! “Funk” is not always good.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 432 ratings

Amazing flavours of Jamaica , love the Hampden range and this is no exception... Incredible depth and power from the funk .. beautiful
Juice . ..Hampden clearly aim to be up there with the king's of rum and deliver in every sense ...

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hesel from Denmark with 66 ratings

Real pot still rum with no fuss ( sugar).
Lots of flavour, fruit (although inexplicable).
Something in between agricole and whisky.
Really a good start away from sweet rum