Posting your rating...
Prichard's Fine rum

Prichard’s Fine rum, a double pot-distilled, Grade A molasses-based rums that’s aged three to eight years in new, charred white oak barrels. Rums of varying ages are blended and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate Prichard's Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Prichard's Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

One of the best sipping rums I've tasted from the continental United States. I found this on a trip to Lexington.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

I have been tempted in recent months to try out Prichard's rum, especially since I live close to both of their distillery's that finally I have given in to temptation.

That said, it is hard for me to determine the flavors. Maybe after I down a few more :D It is smooth with subtle hints of sweetness. I do enjoy this one neat or on the rocks. Tonight I am using it in cola and well, it's decent. It doesn't enhance that sweetness that others like El Dorado 12yr rum does for instance. You get more of the rum flavor without overly changing the sweetness of the cola. However I enjoy the sweeter rums like El Dorado.

So I rated this one as a 7. I really do enjoy this one. Like one other commenter stated though, for the price, I did expect a little more. You are looking at $42 + or - depending on taxes for this bottle.

Posted 8 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

This is the second bottle of Prichard's Fine that I've had. The first was some years ago in the original bottle. This is in the new bottle design. The first thing in the aroma is oaky, solvent-like warm alcohol. Hints of vanilla and some almost Jamaican funkiness.
The flavor is very oak forward with hints of vanilla. You may say bourbon-like. Warming with a slight bitterness but I don't find it hot. Kind of medium bodied with a slightly harsh middle and finish. Definite pot still character. Very dry in the middle and finish with a long bitter character. A bit rough around the edges.
Adding an ice cube softens the rum a bit. A soft natural sweetness peeps out and the rum smooths out. If drinking this neat this rounds it a bit.
I'm a little let down with this bottle as I remember liking the rum much more than I do this time around. No real horrors here, just a bit course and heavy handed. Some will like this and some won't. If you like sweet then don't stop here. If you like Bajan rums you may find this interesting but a bit less refined. Not the first bottle I'd grab but a solid 5 in my book.

Posted 10 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This had only a slight spiced taste to me. There are better spiced to choose from.

Posted 12 months ago by oldhew from United States with 4 ratings

This is a good, solid, drinkable and mixable rum. It is lighter than some. Unlike other reviewers, I don't find that it has a "whiskey" rather than "rum" taste. Good job, Prichard's!

Posted about 1 year ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...well, I was surprised of the bourbish flavor. It hits you unexpected...smokey, sharp with a burn...warms the stomach and throat...after letting it rest a while, a bit of sweetness comes through.

To be honest...the price of appr. 40 EUR is a bit too much for it...I see it rather between EUR 22 to EUR 27 max.

Rating is a 6,5.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Prichard's Fine Rum while traveling in Nashville. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Light golden color. Plenty of oak and pure alcohol to your nose and palate complemented with strong and artificial vanilla extract. Very strong and dry burn at the end.

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

A picked up an airplane bottle of this for $1, and was surprised to find that it contained a decent rum. A pleasant aroma of over-ripe fruit that reminds me of Jamaican rum. The first taste has a little bit of heat, but with a lot of flavor that reminds you of bourbon and leaves you wanting more.

Posted about 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Much better nose than the Crystal. American oak. Like a faded Bourbon. Hint of fruit—bright cherry, pineapple, apricot. Smooth palate. Sweet vanillia, like a cake or a pudding. Hint of wine barrel.

Again—smooth, sweet, and inoffensive. A decent gild mixer, but rather pricey for what you get.

6+

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Nothing about this rum was appealing to me and to learn that this company has the audacity to charge $49.99 for a bottle of this crap is an outrage. This bottle was given to me by my manager after saying, "I don't want it on the shelf anymore. It is taking up room that I can put something else. Take it home". I ended up giving it to someone that needed to get liquor for a party I think. Glad to be rid of it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

This is a great whiskey, but not a good rum. I smell oak maybe some Carmel. The taste is very similar to a good whiskey. Very good oak flavor from the barrels, some Carmel, and vanilla. I can't get any sweet flavor from it and I like rum to have some sweetness to it. If you are looking for a whiskey that is softer and not bitter that this is a good choice, but if you want good rum look elsewhere.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

There is a plethora of rum companies in the U.S and it seems like every day a new distillery is born reminiscent of the colonial period of US history, where distilleries were on every street corner, it seemed.
Prichard's is yet, another example of how American rums can maintain high standards and keep up with other rum producing countries by offering good quality and flavorful rum. A descent sipper with a moderate price tag.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

It's good stuff... It's a little on the drier side and is unnecessarily expensive. But, still, its a rum worth trying.

Posted about 4 years ago by Frank Taylor (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

You can really taste the flavor from the barrels that are used. Flavorful, smooth, an excellent sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I was not impressed with the Prichard's Crystal but they have redeemed themselves with the Prichard's Fine Rum. A beautiful amber color with a delightful sweet aroma. I am so terrible and trying to identify odors but can tell what I like and do not like. I like this rum's aroma. The flavor however has things I do identify. Like the initial sweetness revealing toffee and vanilla flavors. There are others in this rather complex rum but my palate ain't THAT educated. So I will identify what I can. The sweetness is replaced rather quickly with a distinct oak tone that can be a bit overwhelming. It's a little stronger than I normally like but not objectionable. This also brings in a pepperiness and spiciness which slowly fades to a very subtle cotton candy and vanilla flavor. This is definitely good stuff but it seems to be priced a little too high. Makes it a bit cost-prohibitive. There are rums out there similarly priced that are better. However if you care to try something nice and are willing to pay the price, then get a bottle of this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I tasted this rum at the distillery tasting room. It is pretty good and definitely has a burn to it. The best thing about this rum is the story behind it. Come to Tennessee, hear the story, taste the rum and take a bottle home as a souvenir to share with your friends. This one is definitely more affordable than the small batch offering.

Posted over 4 years ago by steve rector from United States with 11 ratings

Big burn, little flavor... Not much to like about this Rum. Can tell its made in the states... One that will sit in my cabinet for a long time without thought...

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I really wanted to like this. Because I like a lot of Prichard's products, I gave this one a try as well. It was not up to what I would expect for the price. There are many other rums I like better at half the cost.

Posted about 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

Settles boldly on the tongue with the strong oak overtones...but it is bottled direct at cask strength. One of the driest rums in our cabinet. Good for sipping, but I like it with coke where it lends a wonderful rum taste without additional sweetness. Mixing with a rum of this cost however could make me reach for a less expensive bottle.

Posted over 5 years ago by Yuichiro Shimura from Japan with 5 ratings

Although young rum, it has good matured tastes. This rum is the only one American rum that it is introduced in French rum book, “101 rhums à découvrir”.

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum has a scent that I can easily and will compare to Brugal Anejo. If you had a glass side by side I may easily mistake the two. Brugal being one of my favorite rums I can say this smell was very inviting though not surprising maybe brugal uses the same bourbon barrels from this company. I have consumed over 20 bottles of Brugal anejo and would say this smells exactly like the newer white fiber bottles. The older gold fiber bottles have a different flavor and smell which I also enjoy, the taste more so.

That being said the flavor is much stronger being aged in new barrels as opposed to used, this has a stronger whiskey flavor to it. This has a much longer and stronger flavor to it. The finish lasts as long as 5 minutes. Prichards is sipped much easier and is more enjoyable to sip slowly.

I would call this a full flavored Brugal any day of the week. I like this rum and it is overall a rum any rum connoisseur should sip at least once.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

This Rum is a True American Colonial Style Rum aged in new charred american white oak, not used barrels. Phil really nailed it with this fine spirit. Great rums, distillery and very nice people at the distillery.

Posted about 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

complex amazing nuff said

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

A fine rum it is. Very Nice Smooth rum, great daily drinker