Posting your rating...
Prichard's Fine rum

Prichard's Fine

United States | Aged

Prichard’s Fine rum, a double pot-distilled, Grade A molasses-based rums that’s aged three to eight years in new, charred white oak barrels. Rums of varying ages are blended and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.4/10 (24 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
3
10
4
2

Rate Prichard's Fine

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Prichard's Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum has a scent that I can easily and will compare to Brugal Anejo. If you had a glass side by side I may easily mistake the two. Brugal being one of my favorite rums I can say this smell was very inviting though not surprising maybe brugal uses the same bourbon barrels from this company. I have consumed over 20 bottles of Brugal anejo and would say this smells exactly like the newer white fiber bottles. The older gold fiber bottles have a different flavor and smell which I also enjoy, the taste more so.

That being said the flavor is much stronger being aged in new barrels as opposed to used, this has a stronger whiskey flavor to it. This has a much longer and stronger flavor to it. The finish lasts as long as 5 minutes. Prichards is sipped much easier and is more enjoyable to sip slowly.

I would call this a full flavored Brugal any day of the week. I like this rum and it is overall a rum any rum connoisseur should sip at least once.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

One of the best sipping rums I've tasted from the continental United States. I found this on a trip to Lexington.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

I have been tempted in recent months to try out Prichard's rum, especially since I live close to both of their distillery's that finally I have given in to temptation.

That said, it is hard for me to determine the flavors. Maybe after I down a few more :D It is smooth with subtle hints of sweetness. I do enjoy this one neat or on the rocks. Tonight I am using it in cola and well, it's decent. It doesn't enhance that sweetness that others like El Dorado 12yr rum does for instance. You get more of the rum flavor without overly changing the sweetness of the cola. However I enjoy the sweeter rums like El Dorado.

So I rated this one as a 7. I really do enjoy this one. Like one other commenter stated though, for the price, I did expect a little more. You are looking at $42 + or - depending on taxes for this bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

This is the second bottle of Prichard's Fine that I've had. The first was some years ago in the original bottle. This is in the new bottle design. The first thing in the aroma is oaky, solvent-like warm alcohol. Hints of vanilla and some almost Jamaican funkiness.
The flavor is very oak forward with hints of vanilla. You may say bourbon-like. Warming with a slight bitterness but I don't find it hot. Kind of medium bodied with a slightly harsh middle and finish. Definite pot still character. Very dry in the middle and finish with a long bitter character. A bit rough around the edges.
Adding an ice cube softens the rum a bit. A soft natural sweetness peeps out and the rum smooths out. If drinking this neat this rounds it a bit.
I'm a little let down with this bottle as I remember liking the rum much more than I do this time around. No real horrors here, just a bit course and heavy handed. Some will like this and some won't. If you like sweet then don't stop here. If you like Bajan rums you may find this interesting but a bit less refined. Not the first bottle I'd grab but a solid 5 in my book.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This had only a slight spiced taste to me. There are better spiced to choose from.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by oldhew from United States with 4 ratings

This is a good, solid, drinkable and mixable rum. It is lighter than some. Unlike other reviewers, I don't find that it has a "whiskey" rather than "rum" taste. Good job, Prichard's!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 84 ratings

...well, I was surprised of the bourbish flavor. It hits you unexpected...smokey, sharp with a burn...warms the stomach and throat...after letting it rest a while, a bit of sweetness comes through.

To be honest...the price of appr. 40 EUR is a bit too much for it...I see it rather between EUR 22 to EUR 27 max.

Rating is a 6,5.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed two glasses of Prichard's Fine Rum while traveling in Nashville. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Light golden color. Plenty of oak and pure alcohol to your nose and palate complemented with strong and artificial vanilla extract. Very strong and dry burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

A picked up an airplane bottle of this for $1, and was surprised to find that it contained a decent rum. A pleasant aroma of over-ripe fruit that reminds me of Jamaican rum. The first taste has a little bit of heat, but with a lot of flavor that reminds you of bourbon and leaves you wanting more.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Much better nose than the Crystal. American oak. Like a faded Bourbon. Hint of fruit—bright cherry, pineapple, apricot. Smooth palate. Sweet vanillia, like a cake or a pudding. Hint of wine barrel.

Again—smooth, sweet, and inoffensive. A decent gild mixer, but rather pricey for what you get.

6+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Nothing about this rum was appealing to me and to learn that this company has the audacity to charge $49.99 for a bottle of this crap is an outrage. This bottle was given to me by my manager after saying, "I don't want it on the shelf anymore. It is taking up room that I can put something else. Take it home". I ended up giving it to someone that needed to get liquor for a party I think. Glad to be rid of it.