Posting your rating...
Atlantico Platino rum

Atlantico Platino

Dominican Republic | Light

5.5/10 (31 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
6
8
7
2

Rate Atlantico Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 Atlantico Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I finally picked up a bottle of this today as only one small store in the city carries it around here. There were only a few left, after being on the shelve for quite a long time, and I doubt it will be reordered so I grabbed one.

One thing to note here is that Platino is aged part from cane juice the other part is molasses. It is aged in 2 different barrels then mixed. The platino does not include any solera aging like the 2 older dark rums. Platino is simply barrel aged 1-2 years.

The final note I have here to consider is that Platino ferments Aguardiente with either the cane juice, molasses or both. This is different than the 2 older dark rums these 2 rums are fermented, aged, barreled twice then put into solera system; and then after aging for some reason mixed with unaged Aguardiente before bottling. This in some way clearly adds flavor to this rum based on what the Aguardiente is made with which could be from what I have researched nearly anything. So upfront this rum is adding flavoring and otherwise modifying its profile using Aguardiente.

I tested this spirit neat as I always do. It is also recommended neat by the producer. The nosing was rather light to my surprise. No harshness and I moved across the glass from the top to the bottom I had several different scents from a very slight dried fruit to a moderate vanilla it was hard to detect anything to be honest due to the lightness of the overall scent.

The taste does not offer much more to be honest. The main note I get is Vanilla. It starts out rather tasteless then moves to a moderate vanilla middle to a slight alcohol taste going down. There is no burn to this rum it goes down and leaves the palate shortly from entering.

This is a rum I would probably not purchase again at its price point which is fairly stable at around 19.99 a bottle. I much prefer the bacardi 1909 limited heritage edition at a lower price for a white rum and a much more flavorful unedited kick which actually tastes like rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 162 ratings

In the nose there are hints of spices and fruits.
On the palate you can recognize chocolate on the first sip. Lately there is toffee and vanilla - way too much vanilla.
This is not really a sipper, but sure can be good for some mixing.
Rating would better if there was not so much annoying vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by krasnal from Poland with 38 ratings

Taki słaby jednak słaby i takie ładnie pachnie i już

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by kai from Germany with 9 ratings

Being a Margarita and Caipirinha Lover I wanted to created a Mojito based on a good white rum. This one was my first try some month ago. Also in retrospective I did good choice with the Atlantico. Me and my guests all enjoyed the cocktails very much and many of them. Nobody had a significant hangover. Theres plenty fruit and citrous note in that rum. Maybe a bit to much sweetness but only a hint. No intrusive spirit taste nor sharpness. I didn't sip it because I never do.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

A friend of mine bought me this rum as present. I normally don't drink white rum Unless I'm mixing it in a drink. And it's usually a cheap warm since the Coca-Cola or whatever I'm using to mix overpower the taste of the rum anyway. I made some rum and cokes using this for me and my wife. What a surprise!. Had a nice clean taste and a slight hint a vanilla on the end. I was shocked that it was that tasty. I probably won't buy a bottle of this and will continue to drink cheap white rum like Bacardi, however, I suggest that somebody try this at least once this way you know the difference.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jannino from United States with 24 ratings

Strong hints of chocolate on the front end and then a slight burn on the back end. Better than the mass produced stuff

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 108 ratings

For solo drink it is not so great. But maybe for some drinks....

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

bin kein kenner was weissen rum angeht.. aber er ist der beste den ich bisher probiert habe. warum? er ist fruchtig zitruss.. und nicht spritig!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

20ml uit een advent kalender. Tsja, normaal heb ik witte agricole of witte Jamaicaanse rum en dit staat daar in schril contrast mee. Niet veel smaak en of aroma.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Clean, light and soft. Cocoa, mineral, vanilla and roasted nuts whispering from miles away, so this one neither catch nor wow you with anything dominant. Spirit notes of sweet pepper and eucalyptus at the edge but remains rather harmless. (84/18)

P- Rounded and velvet, well behaved vanilla and citrus, gently sweet and clean. (82/17)

F- Short, go down quietly and easily. Its sweet but not syrupy, simple, proper and delightful just to sips. (84/18)

Body/Balance- 85/19

Weighted Rate- 72pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

I had a few drinks of Atlantico Platino while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks.