Posting your rating...
Atlantico Platino rum

Atlantico Platino

Dominican Republic | Light

5.5/10
35 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
6
8
7
4

Rate Atlantico Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

35 Atlantico Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 33 ratings

Straightforward rum, sweetish with some chocolate notes. Neither good nor bad. I don't know maybe it's a good mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

Tasted this as a sipping rum, but it's not me, hence the low rating. I think it would fit in a cocktail much better than for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 157 ratings

Duften fangede mig ikke, men jeg blev positivt overrasket over smagen på denne hvide rom.

En frisk smag af citrus og vanille. Jeg kunne forestille mig, at den er god som en blandingsrom.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Sweden with 16 ratings

Nose Charcoal tobaco leaf and vanilla

Palate Sweet creamy vanilla ice-cream toffe almond black pepper and orange zest

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

The rum is from the Dominican Republic. Distilled from both molasses & sugar can juice. Shipped to the US for finishing. Crisp but still pretty smooth with hints of citrus and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Smooth white rum that has some nice flavor that works well together. Crisp, expressive, on the sweeter side, this rum is aged from 1-2 years, so not a lot has happened in terms of complexity, or enhanced flavors, but worth paying 25$ or so. The burn may hold some drinkers back from drinking this neat, but adding an ice cube or letting it breath in your glass does alter its composition. This goes for all rums and whiskeys for that matter.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

First I tasted this rum in drink called Platónico (Atlantico platino, tonic, ice, sprig of thyme) and I liked it a lot. Then I tasted it straight and it surprised me with its sweetness and smoothness. Nice rum yet it seems a little overpriced to me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

if you´re searching for a white rum with sweetness, take the ride! the atlantico platino is best at doing mixtures with a mild and sweet rum. you can drink it pure without ice and hand warmed. nice try!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Bill Styer from United States with 2 ratings

One of the only clear rums I've found, that actually has a flavor. We first picked a bottle of this up in Aruba, for my wife, because she drinks rum and cokes. Of course having drank, and enjoyed the Atlantico Private Cask, I sipped a bit of this neat. I was very surprised at how smooth it was, for a clear rum.
I've started using this when I make Mojitos, it's a very good mixing rum.
It is a little more expensive than Bacardi, so if your looking for a cheap mixer then this isn't for you.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

I was traveling and by the time I arrived my only option for a much needed night-cap was a Friday's across from my hotel. I asked the bartender if they had any higher end rums. He showed me the Atlantico Plantino. Admitting he didn't know much about rum, he told me he heard it was "the Patron of rums." Let's start with this; it most certainly is NOT the Patron of rums.

OK, it's not awful. It's maybe slightly better than the standard Bacardi I was about to go with. I'm not a Bacardi basher. I think Bacardi 8 is one of the best values and under rated rums available. But the standard "Superior" is what you drink in high school and college - not once you come to appreciate great rum and can afford it.

I give the Atlantico one point above Bacardi Superior because it is reasonably smooth - again compared to Bacardi, not any great rum. But I'm not sure it is rum.

I can't say it's flavorless but I'll be damned if I can identify any specific flavors. Reading others' reviews that describe the chemical additives and calling it perfume hit home with me. It has a floral scent although not taste. While it doesn't taste bad, it really doesn't taste like rum, or anything else I can identify.

There's no chance I'd ever buy a bottle of this stuff but stuck at a Friday's with few options, I'd probably order again.

No chance I'd have more than 2 out of fear that whatever chemicals are in this stuff COULD give me a nasty hang over in the morning.

A gave it a 5, and that's generous, but Bacardi gets a 4 in my book and I'll stick with this is one notch better.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Carlos from United States with 14 ratings

I had a great Mojitos at Victor's Cafe in NYC made with Atlantico. Prefer it to Bacardi Silver.