Posting your rating...
Plantation 2009 Fiji rum

Rate Plantation 2009 Fiji

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 Plantation 2009 Fiji ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 8 months ago by Peterpanrha from Belgium with 27 ratings

what's the smell? like glue,paint not possible to drink.same of mine money.
but after the bottle was open and let the rum breath it was a complete other rum.
my experience take a bigger glas and let it breath for 10 minutes ,theres a nicer smell and a beter tasting. i have to put my ranking from 2 to 7.cheers

Posted 3 months ago by WeSsert from Netherlands with 4 ratings

The smell is not very nice. The most people already said it. Its a dry one. Short afterburn. The tast is okay but did not last long. Little bit sweet, you can taste the vanilla! Fine sipper

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Didnt know what to expect but it was great. It was both dry and sweet and is not dosed.

Posted 4 months ago by zaks from France with 38 ratings

Son goût est hors du commun : notes d’épice, de bois, de gingembre mais aussi d’ananas, avec un côté acide en arrière bouche

Posted 5 months ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

It is a unique taste I am not a fan of. I would not buy this one again.

Posted 6 months ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

Nosing and palate show flavor notes of vanilla and caramel. There is some little ginger spiciness, but with only minor sharpness. This little spiciness is continued into the finish, which is short. Overall a nice sipping rum, not too strong and not too sweet.

Posted 8 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

The rum seems to be too muted from the plantation aging process. I’d like to taste this without the plantation elevage

Posted 8 months ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Some may not like the taste. Actually it seems to me like close to St Lucia 2004. Most of the girls do not like it not sure why :) But I like that "smoked" taste...

Posted 8 months ago by bhummel from United States with 2 ratings

So I love plantation products with my favorite being the 20th anniversary, but this is literally the first one I've basically dumped down the drain after trying. Its not cheap and i wouldn't recommend it, but i'm also new to rum too so maybe i dont know...That being said I'm a chef and like to think i have a decent palette and this one is just not worth consuming in my opinion.

Posted 9 months ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

První dojem výborný. Později už vůně nebyla tak skvělá. Dobře se pije.

Posted 10 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Let’s just say I thought this was very funk. If like funky rums you must try this one.

Posted 11 months ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...zugesetzt und sehr lecker. Geschmacklich sehr ausgewogen mit einem langen Abgang.

Posted 12 months ago by Hesel from Denmark with 33 ratings

Color: 2/5. Nose: 5/15. Taste: 15/20
No sugar added, and it tastes. A bit oily, and an interesting experience.

For the days when you want a more dry rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 133 ratings

I love Plantation brand rum.
I'm satisfied to drink a lot of Plantation rums, However, I can not drink this strange smell rum.
Is it only my one??

Posted about 1 year ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Βγάζει μια περίεργη αλμύρα με άρωμα εσπεριδοειδών χωρίς ιδιαίτερα μακρυά επίγευση. Δεν είναι καθόλου γλυκό , αλλά ούτε και βαρύ σα bourbon.Έχει δικό του ιδιαίτερο χαρακτήρα, αξίζει να το δοκιμάσεις , αλλά αν σου αρέσουν τα γλυκά , θα απογοητευτείς. ευτυχώς δεν ανήκω σε αυτήν την κατηγορία. Σίγουρα εμπειρία ..... Σίγουρα όχι στα αγαπημένα μου (8+)

Posted over 1 year ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Amber color with hues of gray. On the first nose, there is solvent, it is greedy, pastry on the almond but also with citrus and medicinal notes, plants.The wood arrive on the second nose with specific aromas of cognac that come from the barrel. Ripe exotic fruits also arrive. In the mouth, we are on exotic fruits and candied fruits, it is flat, not very interesting and not very long.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Something strange in aroma. Taste more dry with short aftertaste.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

Another regional offering from Plantation. At only 9 years aged it is still a very good rum to drink neat.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Buttery vanilla, soft caramel, toasted coconut and pineapple.
A 2009 vintage Fijian rum from the Plantation range, produced by the South Pacific distillery and bottled as part of the Plantation range. It was initially matured in bourbon casks for 7 years before being shipped over to France for a for a finishing period in Cognac casks for a further 2 years.

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Distilled (pot and column) in 2009 and aged for 7 years in Fiji in Bourbon barrels followed by the typical 2 years in France. Bottled at 44.8% ABV.

Ah yes, that varnish-y Fijian nose. Lots of high notes. But very well aged. It's nicely tamed and fairly balanced. Nail polish with vanillin. Pineapple. Label says prickly pear. Very good; lots of fun. Medium but fun finish. I like it a lot!

8+, 9-




#