Posting your rating...
Plantation 2009 Fiji rum

Plantation 2009 Fiji

Caribbean | Aged

7.0/10
35 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
4
16
8
3

Rate Plantation 2009 Fiji

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

35 Plantation 2009 Fiji ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

Nice and dry. Some nice brown butter and burnt caramel hints. Cognac really pulls through in a good way. Sip this while you eat a snickerdoodle.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Aldoholic666 from Belgium with 26 ratings

After the Barbados 2005 this is a nice surprise. Where the bourbon age was missing in the previous bottle, this completely makes up for it. It has a nice soft but well aimed kick to it. For the Plantation night this is curently best.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

I have to say that I was impressed with this rum, I really enjoyed it. I had a few other drinks before so I wasn’t really focused in getting all the nuances but I had it neat and I had a great experience. I will have it again next time with more calm and observation.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Peterpanrha from Belgium with 31 ratings

what's the smell? like glue,paint not possible to drink.same of mine money.
but after the bottle was open and let the rum breath it was a complete other rum.
my experience take a bigger glas and let it breath for 10 minutes ,theres a nicer smell and a beter tasting. i have to put my ranking from 2 to 7.cheers

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Quilty from United States with 11 ratings

Normally, "fruity" would not be a compliment for a rum, but here it is. This is the only Fijian rum I've tried, so perhaps it's representative of the style. Very different from Caribbean rums, and, to my mind, not nearly as complex and well-balanced as they are. Good and unique, but it simply does not have enough substance to challenge similarly-priced Caribbean or South American rums.

Small 24e26e66 c6c7 425d a133 3a533f9d023a

Posted 1 month ago by John frederick from United States with 59 ratings

This has a nice balance, as a sipper pretty clean. Has a typical Plantation taste which I enjoy, a bit sweeter than non Fiji style. I don't see this too often at stores, grab it if you see it, worth a try for sure

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Not bad - but is it necessary to Transport
this liquid to the other side of the planet? Most likley better with your feet in lukewarm southsee and coconuts falling down upon you :-)

Small neil   peokoe img 2438

Posted 6 months ago by NeilIsntWitty from Canada with 5 ratings

A flavourful dry rum from the fine folks at Plantation.
Appearance: Clear, medium gold
Nose: Clean, medium+ intensity. Leads with vanilla and fruity esters from the pot-still component, with some nuttiness (hazelnut, pecan) followed by hints of baking spices.
Palate: Clean, dry, medium+ intensity. Smooth to sip, although due to a fair amount of heat at 44.8%, it does have some sharp edges. Leads with flavours of english toffee, ginger, anise, starfruit, tart green apple. Long finish with some complexity, with length contributed by the lingering ester contribution.
Conclusion: Good. If you're looking for a sweeter style sipper like a Zacapa or Plantation XO, then this won't necessarily be your cup of tea (or rum). But if you're attracted to Jamaican pot still offerings, and are intrigued by the effect on bourbon and Ferrand cask ageing from the South Pacific, then this is a solid offering that will allow your palate to start veering into more challenging places.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 343 ratings

I do a side by side tasting with Fiji Transcontinental line 2014. Yes 4y vs 9y is not fair, but let's see.

Plantation starts smooth with some typical Fiji pot still aromas. I get canned vegetables in combination with caramel and dry fruits. Quite simple nose but beatiful.
The taste starts salty, not sweet like the nose.
It's hard to describe. It starts little bit watery I get salty white oak with melon and some paper. In the middle the taste turns bitter and I get hint of caramel, tannins (bitterness), melon and oak.
The finish is spicy with again salty melon, tannins and vanilla.

The 4y young Fiji has more aromas of plastic and pickled vegetables. It's more interesting for me.
But this one is also not bad. Would rate it with 73 points.

Nose: canned vegetables, plastic, some salted melon, caramel, honey, some white oak and barrel
Taste: salty oak and melon, a hint of paper, vanilla
Middle: a hint of caramel, tannins (bitterness), melon, oak
Finish: spice, salty melon, tannins, vanilla
Aftertaste: after 2min some fruits

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (38€): 2.5/5

Experiment: I mixed the 4y with my 17y old Fiji.
The nose got smooth but earthy, the pot still aromas got killed. It's not a interesting nose. The taste became earthy, there is also orange peels with canned vegetables now and some caramel.
Blends of Fiji Pot with Column still are not very good. The blend is not bad, but I would prefer a pot still Fiji rum.

Small img 20210101 104439

Posted 10 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 93 ratings

Aroma of vanilla, caramel, cocoa and in taste you can find also wallnuts.