Posting your rating...
Plantation 2009 Fiji rum

Plantation 2009 Fiji

Caribbean | Aged

6.9/10 (30 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
12
8
3

Rate Plantation 2009 Fiji

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Plantation 2009 Fiji ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Buttery vanilla, soft caramel, toasted coconut and pineapple.
A 2009 vintage Fijian rum from the Plantation range, produced by the South Pacific distillery and bottled as part of the Plantation range. It was initially matured in bourbon casks for 7 years before being shipped over to France for a for a finishing period in Cognac casks for a further 2 years.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Aldoholic666 from Belgium with 21 ratings

After the Barbados 2005 this is a nice surprise. Where the bourbon age was missing in the previous bottle, this completely makes up for it. It has a nice soft but well aimed kick to it. For the Plantation night this is curently best.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 18 ratings

I have to say that I was impressed with this rum, I really enjoyed it. I had a few other drinks before so I wasn’t really focused in getting all the nuances but I had it neat and I had a great experience. I will have it again next time with more calm and observation.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Peterpanrha from Belgium with 29 ratings

what's the smell? like glue,paint not possible to drink.same of mine money.
but after the bottle was open and let the rum breath it was a complete other rum.
my experience take a bigger glas and let it breath for 10 minutes ,theres a nicer smell and a beter tasting. i have to put my ranking from 2 to 7.cheers

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 193 ratings

I do a side by side tasting with Fiji Transcontinental line 2014. Yes 4y vs 9y is not fair, but let's see.

Plantation starts smooth with some typical Fiji pot still aromas, but it's also clear that there is some column rum inside. I get canned vegetables in combination with caramel and dry fruits. Quite simple nose but beatiful.
The taste starts salty, not sweet like the nose.
It's hard to describe. It starts little bit watery there is not much going on. I get salty white oak and some paper. In the middle the taste gets bitter and I get the orange peels.

The 4y young Fiji has more aromas of plastic and pickled vegetables. It's much more interesting for me. The taste is more intensive.

The taste is one dimensional, there is not enough complexity. The 4y Fiji wins clearly.

I could create a better blend out of 4y Fiji with column distillation Plantation Fiji 17y one time limited edition. I am glad to get just a sample of Plantation 2009.

Nose: canned vegetables, some salted melon, caramel, honey, some white oak and barrel
Taste: salty oak, a hint of white paper
Middle: a hint of caramel, orange peels (bitterness)
Finish: spice, still the orange peels, salty
Aftertaste: after 2min some fruits

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (38€): 1.5/5

Experiment: I mixed the 4y with my 17y old Fiji.
The nose got smooth but earthy, the pot still aromas got killed. It's not a interesting nose. The taste became earthy, there is also orange peels with canned vegetables now and some caramel.
Blends of Fiji Pot with Column still are not very good. The blend is not bad, but I would prefer a pot still Fiji rum.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Aroma of vanilla, caramel, cocoa and in taste you can find also wallnuts.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Erik Marum from United States with 32 ratings

Very much enjoyed this rum but was also unique in several ways. Scent is a bit funky, but after a while trying to figure out what was familiar I found it seemed to be a subtle apple and honey going on. As for sipping it is definitely smooth, a tad citrus on the initial dios, but washes over with a very interesting and complex after taste. Hard for me to pinpoint it as it is an interesting 'funk' going on in a good way. The it really lingers on the pallet in a very pleasant way. I have a feeling this would pair very well with a good My Father cigar. Might have to try that when I get back to Miami. Overall, it is a very good rum that I truly enjoy. For the price, I think there are better options. But still fun to enjoy now and then to mix it up.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 176 ratings

barva svetlejší
vune vanilka a cherry, sušší už z vůně
chut přijemně hřejivá lehce medová, lehce dřevitá s cestou k whisce
zaver sušší stažení :)
hodnoceni 7
koupit znovu spíše ne

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

Not easy to drink for beginners. It has heavy whiskey likes aroma. But you can feel also some vanilla and fruit. In mouth you can feel more fruit due to cognac ageing and also caramel and wood.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Andreas from Sweden with 13 ratings

This one did not please my tastebuds. At all. But you can’t win all the time.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 33 ratings

As usual, great Plantation packaging; high alcohol scent across the nose, almost overwhelming, not in a good way, light butterscotch across the tongue, high alcohol burn, not great; more burn across the back of the palate; high burn ON THE WALLET!!! Too expensive at $90 USD! Will not purchase again;